One Pocket
Old
  (#1)
cigarmikl
Registered
cigarmikl is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 10
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Dec 2012
   
One Pocket - 08-23-2020, 07:24 AM

My opponent is minus 2. My inning and I intentionally sink a ball in his pocket. His inning does he spot that ball before he starts shooting or after his inning has ended?
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
CocoboloCowboy
Cowboys are my heros.
CocoboloCowboy has a reputation beyond reputeCocoboloCowboy has a reputation beyond reputeCocoboloCowboy has a reputation beyond reputeCocoboloCowboy has a reputation beyond reputeCocoboloCowboy has a reputation beyond reputeCocoboloCowboy has a reputation beyond reputeCocoboloCowboy has a reputation beyond reputeCocoboloCowboy has a reputation beyond reputeCocoboloCowboy has a reputation beyond reputeCocoboloCowboy has a reputation beyond reputeCocoboloCowboy has a reputation beyond repute
 
CocoboloCowboy's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 32,433
vCash: 1538
iTrader: 91 / 100%
Blog Entries: 2
Join Date: Jul 2007
   
08-23-2020, 07:35 AM

Your ball in his pocket is his ball, it is his shot, he is -1, thanks to you making ball for him. He should say thank you.


“Pool is geometry, in its most challenging form, the science of precise angles, and forces" - Quote from: A Game of Pool, The Twilight Zone 1961 Television Show.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Bob Jewett
AZB Osmium Member
Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Bob Jewett's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 19,060
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
08-23-2020, 08:24 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cigarmikl View Post
My opponent is minus 2. My inning and I intentionally sink a ball in his pocket. His inning does he spot that ball before he starts shooting or after his inning has ended?
Balls spot at the end of the turn in which they are pocketed or lost due to a foul.

There are some additional rules that apply if the players forget to spot a ball that should be spotted. (That is usually not as soon as it is noticed.)

The closest thing we have to official rules for one pocket are at http://onepocket.org.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
cigarmikl
Registered
cigarmikl is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 10
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Dec 2012
   
08-25-2020, 09:26 AM

Got 2 reply’s conflicting
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
measureman
AzB Silver Member
measureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond repute
 
measureman's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 8,459
vCash: 1500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Denver
   
08-25-2020, 09:41 AM

Your opponent spots the ball before he shoots and is now minus one.


New cue-Schmelke custom Bocote merry widow
Best of the bunch- The Mighty Lucasi Cocobolo
Back up cue - Troy Downey
I woke up.
Triangles tips and Masters chalk are good enough.

Willie said “I will only say this...when I beat Ralph, they would say it was because he was drinking....but every time he beat me, he was drinking too.”


The Truth: If you have a stroke the gear don't matter... If you don't have a stroke the gear won't help.
The above quote by Softshot
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
measureman
AzB Silver Member
measureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond reputemeasureman has a reputation beyond repute
 
measureman's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 8,459
vCash: 1500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Denver
   
08-25-2020, 09:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cigarmikl View Post
Got 2 reply’s conflicting
No you didn't.


New cue-Schmelke custom Bocote merry widow
Best of the bunch- The Mighty Lucasi Cocobolo
Back up cue - Troy Downey
I woke up.
Triangles tips and Masters chalk are good enough.

Willie said “I will only say this...when I beat Ralph, they would say it was because he was drinking....but every time he beat me, he was drinking too.”


The Truth: If you have a stroke the gear don't matter... If you don't have a stroke the gear won't help.
The above quote by Softshot
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Bob Jewett
AZB Osmium Member
Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Bob Jewett's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 19,060
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
08-25-2020, 01:15 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by measureman View Post
No you didn't.
The response before mine was not wrong but it was incomplete. It failed to mentioned the very, very important point that the pocketed ball spots. That incomplete response could be interpreted as letting the opponent keep the ball.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.