What's With Cleaning The Cue Ball So Often?

Rich93

A Small Time Charlie
Silver Member
I'm referring to the Worlds Tournament. In the final game yesterday they were cleaning the cue ball all the time - after every rack and sometimes during the rack - and still there were skids. If the commentators solved this mystery I didn't hear it, so I ask the group:

* did the chalk that one of the players was using "ultra-stick" to the cue ball?
* did the product used to clean the balls just attract more chalk sticking (though the ref appeared to be using a dry cloth)?

I think we've all seen the video of Irving Crane playing Joe Balsis and running 150 in 1966. The cue ball was never cleaned once and there were no skids (at least I think this is true). What changed between then and now?

Positively Ralf

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I'm no expert on the matter, but I just think it's another one of those small things some players are nitpicky about. Again, what do I know, but that's just what I think.

Texas Carom Club

9ball did to billiards what hiphop did to america
Silver Member
it was a little annoying, and im used to seeing the ball cleaned in billiard matches

ball material,chalk,cloth material

how much air conditioning was there back in those days in pool halls?

i dont remember earl asking for it to be cleaned at all

Dave

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Well, the answer may be on Immonen's vest.... He's sponsored by Kamui and if he uses the chalk, that may be the reason. It's very soft.
I 'd be more annoyed by a skid that cost me a match than an annoying impatient viewer.

Rich93

A Small Time Charlie
Silver Member
Mika was using chalk from his vest pocket and not chalking after every shot. If he is sponsored by Kamui, might he have been using Kamui chalk? Might that chalk have been the problem? Just asking, have never used it myself.