Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Main Category > 14.1 Pool
Reload this Page Scenario and rule ??
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
Scenario and rule ??
Old
  (#1)
garczar
AzB Silver Member
garczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Online
Posts: 10,136
vCash: 500
iTrader: 13 / 93%
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Murica
   
Scenario and rule ?? - 01-08-2020, 09:48 AM

If after the 14th ball is pocketed the cue-ball is inside the triangle what do you do? CB behind the h'string? Also, what if the break-ball is in the rack? If there's a link to all this that would be cool. Thanks
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
Bob Jewett
AZB Osmium Member
Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 17,424
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
01-08-2020, 10:14 AM

Here are the WPA World Standardized Rules:

https://wpapool.com/rules-of-play/#Continuous-Pool

And here is the pertinent text for racking situations:
When the cue ball or fifteenth object ball interferes with racking fourteen balls for a new rack, the following special rules apply. A ball is considered to interfere with the rack if it is within or overlaps the outline of the rack. The referee will state when asked whether a ball interferes with the rack.

(a) If the fifteenth ball was pocketed on the shot that scored the fourteenth ball, all fifteen balls are re-racked.

(b) If both balls interfere, all fifteen balls are re-racked and the cue ball is in hand behind the head string.

(c) If only the object ball interferes, it is placed on the head spot or the center spot if the cue ball blocks the head spot.

(d) If only the cue ball interferes, then it is placed as follows: if the object ball is in front of or on the head string, the cue ball is in hand behind the head string; if the object ball is behind the head string, the cue ball is spotted on the head spot, or on the center spot if the head spot is blocked.

In any case, there is no restriction on which object ball the shooter may play as the first shot of the new rack.

If the cue ball or object ball is barely outside the marked rack area and it is time to rack, the referee should mark the position of the ball to allow it to be accurately replaced if it is accidentally moved by the referee when racking.


There is also a matrix of possibilities in the rules if the text above is not clear. Some like one better than the other.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
garczar
AzB Silver Member
garczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond reputegarczar has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Online
Posts: 10,136
vCash: 500
iTrader: 13 / 93%
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Murica
   
Thumbs up 01-09-2020, 07:40 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Jewett View Post
Here are the WPA World Standardized Rules:

https://wpapool.com/rules-of-play/#Continuous-Pool

And here is the pertinent text for racking situations:
When the cue ball or fifteenth object ball interferes with racking fourteen balls for a new rack, the following special rules apply. A ball is considered to interfere with the rack if it is within or overlaps the outline of the rack. The referee will state when asked whether a ball interferes with the rack.

(a) If the fifteenth ball was pocketed on the shot that scored the fourteenth ball, all fifteen balls are re-racked.

(b) If both balls interfere, all fifteen balls are re-racked and the cue ball is in hand behind the head string.

(c) If only the object ball interferes, it is placed on the head spot or the center spot if the cue ball blocks the head spot.

(d) If only the cue ball interferes, then it is placed as follows: if the object ball is in front of or on the head string, the cue ball is in hand behind the head string; if the object ball is behind the head string, the cue ball is spotted on the head spot, or on the center spot if the head spot is blocked.

In any case, there is no restriction on which object ball the shooter may play as the first shot of the new rack.

If the cue ball or object ball is barely outside the marked rack area and it is time to rack, the referee should mark the position of the ball to allow it to be accurately replaced if it is accidentally moved by the referee when racking.


There is also a matrix of possibilities in the rules if the text above is not clear. Some like one better than the other.
Wow. That's clear as mud. I think i'm more confused now but that's easy to do. Thanks Bob.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
JimGinPhx
AzB Silver Member
JimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 91
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Blog Entries: 1
Join Date: Jun 2008
   
01-09-2020, 07:57 AM

I worked at the 2000 U.S. Open 14.1
Situation D was discussed . To legally shoot at the object ball on the head string spot, with cue ball in hand in the kitchen , the cue ball would have to be out of the kitchen when contact is made with the object ball .The head string is not in the kitchen.

Last edited by JimGinPhx; 01-09-2020 at 08:56 AM.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
alstl
AzB Silver Member
alstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond repute
 
alstl's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 8,636
vCash: 500
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Over the hill
   
01-09-2020, 09:29 AM

Cue ball inside the triangle is a smart move sometimes if you get the final object ball in a funny place. BIH comes in handy.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Bob Jewett
AZB Osmium Member
Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 17,424
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
01-09-2020, 09:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimGinPhx View Post
I worked at the 2000 U.S. Open 14.1
Situation D was discussed . To legally shoot at the object ball on the head string spot, with cue ball in hand in the kitchen , the cue ball would have to be out of the kitchen when contact is made with the object ball .The head string is not in the kitchen.
The current rule is that if a ball is exactly on the headstring it is playable directly if the cue ball is in hand. It is rare that a ball is exactly on the headstring unless it has been spotted.

Your last sentence above seems to contradict the others. If the headstring is not in the kitchen then neither is the head spot. (And as mentioned under the current rules the headstring including the head spot are not part of the kitchen.)


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Bob Jewett
AZB Osmium Member
Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 17,424
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
01-09-2020, 09:59 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by garczar View Post
Wow. That's clear as mud. I think i'm more confused now but that's easy to do. Thanks Bob.
I think it may make more sense if you start with a specific situation that you are trying to decide on and work through the clauses, crossing out the ones that don't apply. You may prefer to work from the matrix in the full rules.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
JimGinPhx
AzB Silver Member
JimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 91
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Blog Entries: 1
Join Date: Jun 2008
   
01-09-2020, 01:20 PM

The" center" of the head string spot is not in the kitchen . It is on the head string , which is not in the kitchen . What I wrote is correct. With cue ball in hand in the Kitchen, and object ball on the head string spot , the cue ball can't legally contact a ball outside the kitchen unless the "Center " of the cue ball is outside the kitchen when contact is made with the object ball.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
alstl
AzB Silver Member
alstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond repute
 
alstl's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 8,636
vCash: 500
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Over the hill
   
01-09-2020, 02:49 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Jewett View Post
Here are the WPA World Standardized Rules:

https://wpapool.com/rules-of-play/#Continuous-Pool

And here is the pertinent text for racking situations:
When the cue ball or fifteenth object ball interferes with racking fourteen balls for a new rack, the following special rules apply. A ball is considered to interfere with the rack if it is within or overlaps the outline of the rack. The referee will state when asked whether a ball interferes with the rack.

(a) If the fifteenth ball was pocketed on the shot that scored the fourteenth ball, all fifteen balls are re-racked.

(b) If both balls interfere, all fifteen balls are re-racked and the cue ball is in hand behind the head string.

(c) If only the object ball interferes, it is placed on the head spot or the center spot if the cue ball blocks the head spot.

(d) If only the cue ball interferes, then it is placed as follows: if the object ball is in front of or on the head string, the cue ball is in hand behind the head string; if the object ball is behind the head string, the cue ball is spotted on the head spot, or on the center spot if the head spot is blocked.

In any case, there is no restriction on which object ball the shooter may play as the first shot of the new rack.

If the cue ball or object ball is barely outside the marked rack area and it is time to rack, the referee should mark the position of the ball to allow it to be accurately replaced if it is accidentally moved by the referee when racking.


There is also a matrix of possibilities in the rules if the text above is not clear. Some like one better than the other.
I encountered (c) a while back. Tried to leave the cue ball above and a couple inches to the side of the headspot and landed right on the headspot.

When you play as poorly as I do weird stuff happens.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
DynoDan
AzB Silver Member
DynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond repute
 
DynoDan's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 359
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: May 2018
   
01-09-2020, 06:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimGinPhx View Post
What I wrote is correct. With cue ball in hand in the Kitchen, and object ball on the head string spot , the cue ball can't legally contact a ball outside the kitchen unless the "Center " of the cue ball is outside the kitchen when contact is made with the object ball.
Nothing in the rules supports your contention. If the center of the object ball designates it’s location as ‘outside’ the kitchen, and the placement of the cue ball’s center is legally designated as ‘inside’ the kitchen, then point of contact should be irrelevant.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Bob Jewett
AZB Osmium Member
Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 17,424
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
01-09-2020, 06:47 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimGinPhx View Post
... the cue ball can't legally contact a ball outside the kitchen unless the "Center " of the cue ball is outside the kitchen when contact is made with the object ball.
I believe this has never been the official rule. Let's try an example:

An object ball is entirely outside the kitchen near the side cushion. There is a space of 1 inch between its edge and the head string. The player has ball in hand and puts the cue ball near the same side cushion. He shoots the object ball straight into the far corner pocket along that side cushion.

By your ruling that shot is a foul because the center of the cue ball was in the kitchen (by 1/8 inch) when it hit the object ball. Again: I don't think that has ever been the rule.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
JimGinPhx
AzB Silver Member
JimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 91
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Blog Entries: 1
Join Date: Jun 2008
   
01-09-2020, 09:59 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Jewett View Post
I believe this has never been the official rule. Let's try an example:

An object ball is entirely outside the kitchen near the side cushion. There is a space of 1 inch between its edge and the head string. The player has ball in hand and puts the cue ball near the same side cushion. He shoots the object ball straight into the far corner pocket along that side cushion.

By your ruling that shot is a foul because the center of the cue ball was in the kitchen (by 1/8 inch) when it hit the object ball. Again: I don't think that has ever been the rule.
Official BCA General Rules of Pocket Billiards
Page 3 Rule# 38 ( Playing from behind the string )
Refers to what I stated , with an exception .
Please refer to that to understand my reasoning.
Attached Images
 
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
JimGinPhx
AzB Silver Member
JimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 91
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Blog Entries: 1
Join Date: Jun 2008
   
01-09-2020, 10:00 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DynoDan View Post
Nothing in the rules supports your contention. If the center of the object ball designates it’s location as ‘outside’ the kitchen, and the placement of the cue ball’s center is legally designated as ‘inside’ the kitchen, then point of contact should be irrelevant.
BCA General Rules of Pocket Billiards
Page 3- Rule # 38
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Bob Jewett
AZB Osmium Member
Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 17,424
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
01-10-2020, 07:56 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimGinPhx View Post
BCA General Rules of Pocket Billiards
Page 3- Rule # 38
I'm confused. The exception in 38 says that the cue ball does not have to leave the kitchen before contacting a ball that is close to the kitchen. You seem to be saying something very different.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
JimGinPhx
AzB Silver Member
JimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond reputeJimGinPhx has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 91
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Blog Entries: 1
Join Date: Jun 2008
   
01-10-2020, 08:11 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Jewett View Post
I'm confused. The exception in 38 says that the cue ball does not have to leave the kitchen before contacting a ball that is close to the kitchen. You seem to be saying something very different.
I'm saying exactly what the BCA rule states.
The first part of rule 38 is very clear.
Then the BCA throws in an Exception which contradicts the first part of the rule.
At the 2000 14.1 U.S. Open , this situation was discussed at length before the tournament began. Rule 38 was used without the Exception.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.