another rules question
Old
  (#1)
zencues.com
Love to Win Hate to Lose
zencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond repute
 
zencues.com's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 349
vCash: 500
iTrader: 27 / 100%
Join Date: Nov 2009
   
another rules question - 07-16-2013, 03:56 PM

Player A is shooting at a "break ball" with the other 14 ball having been racked. But Player A decides to call a safe shot and then shoots the "break ball" into a pocket.

This means that the 15th ball will be spotted on the foot spot and Player B shoots the CB from where it stopped.

Rules question... does Player B have the right to have the 15 balls reracked so that the rack is tight or does the ball simply get spotted reguardless of if it will stay tight in the rack or not? Or, does Player A have the final say?
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
dmgwalsh
Straight Pool Fanatic
dmgwalsh has a reputation beyond reputedmgwalsh has a reputation beyond reputedmgwalsh has a reputation beyond reputedmgwalsh has a reputation beyond reputedmgwalsh has a reputation beyond reputedmgwalsh has a reputation beyond reputedmgwalsh has a reputation beyond reputedmgwalsh has a reputation beyond reputedmgwalsh has a reputation beyond reputedmgwalsh has a reputation beyond reputedmgwalsh has a reputation beyond repute
 
dmgwalsh's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,941
vCash: 1400
iTrader: 30 / 100%
Blog Entries: 2
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago
   
07-16-2013, 05:10 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by zencues.com View Post
Player A is shooting at a "break ball" with the other 14 ball having been racked. But Player A decides to call a safe shot and then shoots the "break ball" into a pocket.

This means that the 15th ball will be spotted on the foot spot and Player B shoots the CB from where it stopped.

Rules question... does Player B have the right to have the 15 balls reracked so that the rack is tight or does the ball simply get spotted reguardless of if it will stay tight in the rack or not? Or, does Player A have the final say?
I believe the rules changed in 2008 to allow the rerack. I do not think it is required but I think it is allowed.

Before then, it was not allowed.

As usual, I will wait for Mr. Jewett to tell us the truth and admonish us for not consulting his rules.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
zencues.com
Love to Win Hate to Lose
zencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond repute
 
zencues.com's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 349
vCash: 500
iTrader: 27 / 100%
Join Date: Nov 2009
   
07-16-2013, 05:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmgwalsh View Post
I believe the rules changed in 2008 to allow the rerack. I do not think it is required but I think it is allowed.

Before then, it was not allowed.

As usual, I will wait for Mr. Jewett to tell us the truth and admonish us for not consulting his rules.
Yep, it's allowed... but who decides yes or no is the question
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Dave Nelson
AzB Silver Member
Dave Nelson has a reputation beyond reputeDave Nelson has a reputation beyond reputeDave Nelson has a reputation beyond reputeDave Nelson has a reputation beyond reputeDave Nelson has a reputation beyond reputeDave Nelson has a reputation beyond reputeDave Nelson has a reputation beyond reputeDave Nelson has a reputation beyond reputeDave Nelson has a reputation beyond reputeDave Nelson has a reputation beyond reputeDave Nelson has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,568
vCash: 4100
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Racine, Wi
   
07-16-2013, 06:34 PM

And yet another. A player lags. His ball contacts a side rail. I this a foul? I think yes and invokes a one ball penalty.

Dave Nelson
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
AtLarge
AzB Gold Member
AtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond reputeAtLarge has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 11,058
vCash: 500
iTrader: 77 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2008
   
07-16-2013, 09:05 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by zencues.com View Post
... Rules question... does Player B have the right to have the 15 balls reracked so that the rack is tight or does the ball simply get spotted reguardless of if it will stay tight in the rack or not? Or, does Player A have the final say?
Well, the WPA rules say "If the fifteenth ball of a rack needs to be spotted and the fourteen balls have not been touched, the fifteenth ball will spot on the apex spot and the referee may use the triangle to assure a tight rack."

I think a reasonable reading is that the referee is supposed to assure that the rack is tight. If he has to use the triangle to do that, he will.

And since the rack is supposed to be tight, I'd think either player could ask for it to be re-racked in that situation if there is no referee. If one of the players objected to the re-rack, I'd wonder about his motive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Nelson View Post
And yet another. A player lags. His ball contacts a side rail. I this a foul? I think yes and invokes a one ball penalty.

Dave Nelson
It's not a foul, it's a "bad" lag, with no points penalty. There are several ways to produce a bad lag. You cannot win the lag with a bad lag. If the lag is bad by both players, they must do it again.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.