help with leather wrap

cammel8

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I am doing my first leather wrap today and i need some help. First off i need a template for the ends. I know there are metal templates out there but i dont have a choice to wait. A customer that I have done a lot of work for came to me last night. Apearently, his 5 year old got a hold of his stick and unraveled the irish linen. He needs a new wrap and wants leather. I have a piece here that I bought to "practice" with and he likes it. I told him I have never done one before, but he does not care. And he truly does not care, he is not one of those people that says he doesnt, but he realy does. Im pretty sure i could have talked him into a duct tape wrap if i tried.

I am making a fixture for cutting the seems based on a couple designs i have found on the internet. And i have found a few in depth videos that should help too.

Anyway, he needs the cue back by tomorrow morning for a tourney he is in so i have one day to get it done. As i said, the customer does not care what it looks like, but I do. Every one who sees it will be looking at it as my work. And if i dont like the way it comes out i will redo it once i buy a real template, but I want to put my best possible work out there with what i have available to me now. So first question is, does anyone have a printable template that i can use to get the radious right for the end cuts? Short of that, does anyoe know of a way to do it without template?

My second question is, because it was irish linnen, do i have to cut deeper/build up the groove to accomidate the leather+glue thickness?

I know a majority of the answers will be wait until i get a little practice, and trust me, i will practice on a junk cue today before i do his, but short of that any help or suggestion anyone could give would be appreciated.

Thanx in advance!!!

JoeyInCali

Maker of Joey Bautista Cues
Silver Member