9 ball cut break

alex917

Registered
Ive done the cut break a couple of times and im slowly narrowing down on how to exicute this everytime but i am the type that self teaches but b/c ive been kind of short on practice time i was wonder if anyone does the cut break everytime can tell me how to do it does the position of the cue ball have a part in the cut break? does power help or make things worse, where do you hit the 1 ball 50%,60%,70% of the 1 ball.

DogsPlayingPool

"What's in your wallet?"
Silver Member
I'm no expert but I mostly see pros that cut the break shot place the cue ball near the rail. I think this is because breaking from the side results in a fuller hit on the one ball and therefore transfers more energy to the stack.

Also, if breaking from the right side then a little low right is used to bring the cue ball back towards the center of the table after hitting the near side rail. Same principle if breaking from the left side.

Tony_in_MD

You want some of this?
Silver Member
The purpose of a cut break is to create an angle that does not exist, because you are forced to break the balls from a position closer to the center of the table.

IF you break from the side rail there is no need to do a cut break. At the US open 9 ball players are forced to break from the box (area confined within the first and last diamond on the short rail) because of this the cut break is used almost exclusively by most players.

This is something that you need to experiment with, as the amount of the one ball you need to hit varies depending on lots of conditions including how close to the center of the table your cueball is.

As far as power, I would suggest only enough to make a ball, and not too much so you start to lose the cueball. You will NEED to inspect every rack carefully to make sure all of the balls are frozen to each other. Multiple gaps in the rack will guarantee this will not work.