Gripping with the back two fingers.

randyg

www.randygpool.com
Silver Member
I try to watch all of Brandon's videos. When I do it makes me happy that I'm a certified instructor. I don't think Brandons info will actually hurt anyone maybe the contrary. I do know that Brandon needs lessons himself.

Holding the cue with your back two fingers is nothing new. If that makes Brandon's cue go straighter then that's what he should do. Other students should try this also, as I'm an avid believer of a cradle. If you watch the video a little closer, at the time of impact, his grip changed to a tighter grip.

Brandon has a crooked moving cue and a dropped elbow, that's not what I call a good stroke.

Have a great day
randyg

FranCrimi

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
What say you instructors? LINK

I have never heard of this.....

YES!! Absolutely! Been teaching that for years. It's a great way to stop a twisting habit. Feels as uncomfortable as hell at first, but once you get used to it, it's the nuts. I've always called the first two fingers the 'twisting fingers.'

BTW, you don't have to remove first three fingers. You just have to take the pressure off of them. If you watch Brandon shoot, he doesn't acatually remove them from the cue.

You can also shoot with the last three fingers (rather than the last 2) as I believe that the first two are the real culprits for players with twisting issues.

Last edited:

scottjen26

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
As a former (and sometimes current) twister, I second everything Fran said. Those "pincer" fingers can be the source of great feel but can also be huge detriments to your stroke/swing in pool, golf, tennis, etc. The cradle grip tries to avoid that as well but might not be for everyone.
Scott

sfleinen

14.1 & One Pocket Addict
Gold Member
Silver Member
Folks:

This technique has been used by snooker players for decades. It's called the "rear-fingered" grip.