Converting my diamond light to led or not

Sampwr

Registered
I finally was able to locate a 9 foot diamond light local to me after a long time of looking and waiting. I picked it up today and got it home. Above the defusers there is two 8 foot fixtures that each hold two t12 bulbs for a total of 4 lights. I need to replace 2 bulbs and was looking in to converting to led by removing the ballasts and installing 4 led tubes. Does anyone have any experience with doing this as far as the quality of lighting goes? I know they are brighter and are much more efficient but will the design make them too directional or with the defusers will It even matter? I'm looking at bulbs like this

https://www.eledlights.com/select-8ft-led-tube-light-clear-2pack-8rl4fa8040nn60c.html#.WwITeMkpDgA

iusedtoberich

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I think I read about a few members here who did the same. I have no first hand knowledge though... maybe one of them will see this thread and share their input.

Have you also considered quantity two 2' x 4' panels inside the Diamond frame? If they fit, get rid of all the electrical guts, and replace it with these panels. They've come down a lot in price, and maybe you can get two for $150 or so total.

No matter what, I would keep the diamond diffusers. I tried one of those bare 2' x 4' LED panels over my table, and the glare killed my eyes. But when I held one of the diffusers from my Brunswick home model light in front of the panel, it looked great.

mattb

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Fluorescent to LED

I did it to mine. But I believe i used 5500 lumens in mine as per a discussion with the electrical experts at a local commercial lighting distributor. I would have to dig up the old receipt to be positive.