another rule question
Old
  (#1)
Danny Harriman
One of the best in 14.1
Danny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond repute
 
Danny Harriman's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 994
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: May 2008
   
another rule question - 05-14-2018, 01:28 PM

Was hoping to get educated here in a recent match between Foron and Blomdahl, around 15:30 the referee checks to see if the players (Foron) cue ball is froze to the rail. The referee called it not froze i think. My question is as follows - had the players cue ball been froze to rail could he still have played into the short rail (ticky style) going short, short, long - or is the first cushion considered a non-live rail? i think the referee rules the ball not frozen- but had it been frozen could Foron still have played the ticky. Maybe Mr. Jewett or another knowledgeable/solid 3 cushion player could help me clear this one up.
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
Texas Carom Club
play 1cushion & balkline
Texas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond repute
 
Texas Carom Club's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 10,828
vCash: 500
iTrader: 27 / 100%
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Houston tx
   
05-14-2018, 02:27 PM

Same as the frozen ball, doesnt count if its froze and you shoot into it first
Must make contact


3 cushion has killed carom
Royal Pro
the revolution in billiard cloth
-"look how hard this easy game is!"
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
zencues.com
Love to Win Hate to Lose
zencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond repute
 
zencues.com's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 349
vCash: 500
iTrader: 27 / 100%
Join Date: Nov 2009
   
05-14-2018, 08:05 PM

Never mind...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Carom Club View Post
Same as the frozen ball, doesnt count if its froze and you shoot into it first
Must make contact

Last edited by zencues.com; 05-14-2018 at 08:21 PM.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16,927
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
05-14-2018, 09:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny Harriman View Post
Was hoping to get educated here in a recent match between Foron and Blomdahl, around 15:30 the referee checks to see if the players (Foron) cue ball is froze to the rail. The referee called it not froze i think. My question is as follows - had the players cue ball been froze to rail could he still have played into the short rail (ticky style) going short, short, long - or is the first cushion considered a non-live rail? i think the referee rules the ball not frozen- but had it been frozen could Foron still have played the ticky. Maybe Mr. Jewett or another knowledgeable/solid 3 cushion player could help me clear this one up.
The rule from the official UMB website is below. It turns out that not only does the frozen rail not count as a contact, but you must not play into the cushion. Under the old US rules, you could play into the cushion but it did not count (IIRC).
As soon as the cue-ball comes into contact with a cushion the player does not have the right to play directly this cushion.
(The UMB rules would enjoy a more accurate translation into English.)


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16,927
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
05-14-2018, 09:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny Harriman View Post
Was hoping to get educated here in a recent match between Foron and Blomdahl, around 15:30 the referee checks to see if the players (Foron) cue ball is froze to the rail. The referee called it not froze i think. My question is as follows - had the players cue ball been froze to rail could he still have played into the short rail (ticky style) going short, short, long - or is the first cushion considered a non-live rail? i think the referee rules the ball not frozen- but had it been frozen could Foron still have played the ticky. Maybe Mr. Jewett or another knowledgeable/solid 3 cushion player could help me clear this one up.
The rule from the official UMB website is below. It turns out that not only does the frozen rail not count as a contact, but you must not play into the cushion. Under the old US rules, you could play into the cushion but it did not count as a cushion (IIRC).
As soon as the cue-ball comes into contact with a cushion the player does not have the right to play directly this cushion.
(The UMB rules would enjoy a more accurate translation into English.)


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
KissedOut
AzB Silver Member
KissedOut has a reputation beyond reputeKissedOut has a reputation beyond reputeKissedOut has a reputation beyond reputeKissedOut has a reputation beyond reputeKissedOut has a reputation beyond reputeKissedOut has a reputation beyond reputeKissedOut has a reputation beyond reputeKissedOut has a reputation beyond reputeKissedOut has a reputation beyond reputeKissedOut has a reputation beyond reputeKissedOut has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,002
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Dec 2014
   
05-15-2018, 09:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Carom Club View Post
Same as the frozen ball, doesnt count if its froze and you shoot into it first
Must make contact
That isn't how the rule on frozen balls works. You can't shoot into a ball or a cushion the cue ball is frozen to.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Texas Carom Club
play 1cushion & balkline
Texas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond reputeTexas Carom Club has a reputation beyond repute
 
Texas Carom Club's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 10,828
vCash: 500
iTrader: 27 / 100%
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Houston tx
   
05-15-2018, 10:17 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by KissedOut View Post
That isn't how the rule on frozen balls works. You can't shoot into a ball or a cushion the cue ball is frozen to.
ya that would be an assured double hit or mis cue most likely

never understood whats the big deal about a double hit


3 cushion has killed carom
Royal Pro
the revolution in billiard cloth
-"look how hard this easy game is!"
  
Reply With Quote
roger that Bob
Old
  (#8)
Danny Harriman
One of the best in 14.1
Danny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond reputeDanny Harriman has a reputation beyond repute
 
Danny Harriman's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 994
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: May 2008
   
roger that Bob - 05-21-2018, 06:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Jewett View Post
The rule from the official UMB website is below. It turns out that not only does the frozen rail not count as a contact, but you must not play into the cushion. Under the old US rules, you could play into the cushion but it did not count as a cushion (IIRC).
As soon as the cue-ball comes into contact with a cushion the player does not have the right to play directly this cushion.
(The UMB rules would enjoy a more accurate translation into English.)
Thank you, I was going to then ask if I could play a masse into the same rail (artistic shot) but now I think I know the rule so that solves that. If you cannot play into that rail then a masse shot that curved back into that same rail and found three cushions (on that same rail) would not count. Thanks again for clearing that one up.

Last edited by Danny Harriman; 05-21-2018 at 06:24 PM.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16,927
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
05-21-2018, 09:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny Harriman View Post
Thank you, I was going to then ask if I could play a masse into the same rail (artistic shot) but now I think I know the rule so that solves that. If you cannot play into that rail then a masse shot that curved back into that same rail and found three cushions (on that same rail) would not count. Thanks again for clearing that one up.
No, I'm pretty sure that the masse shot would be OK as long as the cue ball was shot away from the rail. For example, if you are frozen to a ball, it is OK to masse out a little and back and hit the ball without having hit anything else.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
nkvilliecues
AzB Silver Member
nkvilliecues has a reputation beyond reputenkvilliecues has a reputation beyond reputenkvilliecues has a reputation beyond reputenkvilliecues has a reputation beyond reputenkvilliecues has a reputation beyond reputenkvilliecues has a reputation beyond reputenkvilliecues has a reputation beyond reputenkvilliecues has a reputation beyond reputenkvilliecues has a reputation beyond reputenkvilliecues has a reputation beyond reputenkvilliecues has a reputation beyond repute
 
nkvilliecues's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 255
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2012
   
05-27-2018, 04:11 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Jewett View Post
The rule from the official UMB website is below. It turns out that not only does the frozen rail not count as a contact, but you must not play into the cushion. Under the old US rules, you could play into the cushion but it did not count (IIRC).
As soon as the cue-ball comes into contact with a cushion the player does not have the right to play directly this cushion.
(The UMB rules would enjoy a more accurate translation into English.)
AS USUAL, Bob Jewett got it right......frozen to a rail.......must play away from it first

  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.