What's Going On With Custom Cue Prices?

knifemakermike

Registered
Hi Guys,

I was once into collecting high-end cues (Scruggs, Josswest, Richard Black, etc) and had quite a collection before kids and marriage about 15 years ago. The market was pretty high back then but demand was good.

I started playing again about a year ago and looking for a real nice cue. It's been quite a journey with very conflicting information. Abundance of cues available from good makers and independent sellers (I would say very fair). Then there seems to be this artificially inflated prices on some higher end cues no one buys. Dealers getting mad you offer a price on a cue that has been sitting there for over a year. Prices that are completely out of sync with the market.

Are people really buying at some of these prices that are asked? I've seen people take some big hits when selling that is making me wonder who is making the money in these deals, I don't think it's the cuemakers.

Kevin Lindstrom

14.1 Addict
Silver Member
Hi Guys,

I was once into collecting high-end cues (Scruggs, Josswest, Richard Black, etc) and had quite a collection before kids and marriage about 15 years ago. The market was pretty high back then but demand was good.

I started playing again about a year ago and looking for a real nice cue. It's been quite a journey with very conflicting information. Abundance of cues available from good makers and independent sellers (I would say very fair). Then there seems to be this artificially inflated prices on some higher end cues no one buys. Dealers getting mad you offer a price on a cue that has been sitting there for over a year. Prices that are completely out of sync with the market.

Are people really buying at some of these prices that are asked? I've seen people take some big hits when selling that is making me wonder who is making the money in these deals, I don't think it's the cuemakers.