Few Simple Questions

robbycar

Registered
I am making a cue for myself. I own a CNC workshop, so I am well tooled. I'm good with metal, but this is my first time playing with timber!

I'm using a maple core, forearm and handle are cored.

Is West System epoxy suitable for gluing it together?

I have a 3D printer and was thinking of printing a few coloured plastic rings, is there any reason not to do this?

What material should I use for the joint collars?

Thanks in advance for some pointers, and I apologize if these are stupid questions!

Rob
Sydney, Australia

Kim Bye

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
West system works really well. 3D printed plastics might have air pockets I recomend coloured veneer or plastic rings you can buy from the big cue part vendors.
Phenolic, Juma, Elforyn, Tomahawk and canvas phenolic are all popular, some use deer antler, camel bone and obviously elephant ivory. The smell when machining things like antler is terrible.

Michael Webb

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I am making a cue for myself. I own a CNC workshop, so I am well tooled. I'm good with metal, but this is my first time playing with timber!

I'm using a maple core, forearm and handle are cored.

Is West System epoxy suitable for gluing it together?

I have a 3D printer and was thinking of printing a few coloured plastic rings, is there any reason not to do this?

What material should I use for the joint collars?

Thanks in advance for some pointers, and I apologize if these are stupid questions!

Rob
Sydney, Australia

Hi Rob
Kim's advice is very good.
For colored washers and dashes in ring work, I like using veneer better than the plastic rings. For wider rings, I like wood.
If the rings, joints and butt caps, are black. I prefer phenolic. Hard to beat it's strength.
For White, I prefer Elforyn. It's been my go to since Ivory is just a headache with the laws. It glues well, sands well and dust from the woods don't get trapped in the pores.