Standard Gold Crown 1 Pockets

NYCnoob99

Registered
I am buying a GC1, it comes with standard pockets and original Monarch rubber, which I think are pretty wide (4.75-5)?

I am relatively new to the game and not good by any means - probably an APA 4/5. Does it make sense to stick with these pockets for a few years until I get better and then try to get the professionally tightened up by a reputable mechanic, or does it make sense to do it now before I get it installed? I obviously want a table that will help me improve my skills, but I also probably have plenty to improve on at my level even with standard big pockets.

Thoughts?

haystj

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Keep 'em big.

By the time you bang around enough balls to want the extra challenge of tighter pockets your table will need new cloth and easy enough to do that work then.

pocket

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Keep 'em big.

By the time you bang around enough balls to want the extra challenge of tighter pockets your table will need new cloth and easy enough to do that work then.

Good advice, but the flip side to that tighter pockets can help teach you to be more precise in your aiming.

DrCue'sProtege

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Leave the pockets big for now. Do as haystj says, when you need new cloth that will be the time to have them tightened.

In the meantime, if you want to shoot into tighter pockets, get a set of Pocket Reducers. The best training aid out there as far as i am concerned.

r/DCP

Type79

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Based on your skill level, I think you would get the most enjoyment on a table with standard or at most, just minimally tighter pockets.

HNTFSH

Birds, Bass & Bottoms
Silver Member
I agree on leaving it alone for now. In addition to developing your game and confidence, other people you play with (of lessor skill) will be happier they can make a ball.

9ball5032

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member