fattening a tenon with glue?
Old
  (#1)
skogstokig
AzB Silver Member
skogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 596
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Yurop
   
fattening a tenon with glue? - 06-18-2019, 01:56 PM

got myself an old j/b cue in a trade. ferrule cracked, so i removed it. unthreaded tenon. i have some ferrules but the ID is bigger than the tenon. its a crap cue so don't want to spend too much money or time on it. can i fatten the tenon with loctite?
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
qbilder
slower than snails
qbilder has a reputation beyond reputeqbilder has a reputation beyond reputeqbilder has a reputation beyond reputeqbilder has a reputation beyond reputeqbilder has a reputation beyond reputeqbilder has a reputation beyond reputeqbilder has a reputation beyond reputeqbilder has a reputation beyond reputeqbilder has a reputation beyond reputeqbilder has a reputation beyond reputeqbilder has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4,803
vCash: 500
iTrader: 19 / 100%
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Manchester, TN
   
06-18-2019, 02:01 PM

Yes. It won't be as strong as a proper fit but will be stronger than you think, likely plenty strong to use.....so long as it's for your own use and not a customer.


I don't check PM's, please email me instead: sugartreecue@gmail.com
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
JoeyInCali
AzB Silver Member

JoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond repute
 
JoeyInCali's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 23,253
vCash: 4400
iTrader: 79 / 100%
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: OC, California
   
06-18-2019, 02:04 PM

Why not make your own ferrule from a rod?


  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
skogstokig
AzB Silver Member
skogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond reputeskogstokig has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 596
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Yurop
   
06-18-2019, 04:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeyInCali View Post
Why not make your own ferrule from a rod?
time and money and that. besides my lathe doesn't have a tailstock nor a drillchuck, only a cross slide. i probably could make a ferrule with it but time again .. i already have the ferrules
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
cueman
AzB Silver Member

cueman has a reputation beyond reputecueman has a reputation beyond reputecueman has a reputation beyond reputecueman has a reputation beyond reputecueman has a reputation beyond reputecueman has a reputation beyond reputecueman has a reputation beyond reputecueman has a reputation beyond reputecueman has a reputation beyond reputecueman has a reputation beyond reputecueman has a reputation beyond repute
 
cueman's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 10,265
vCash: 4100
iTrader: 71 / 100%
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Aragon, Georgia USA
   
06-19-2019, 09:34 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by skogstokig View Post
time and money and that. besides my lathe doesn't have a tailstock nor a drillchuck, only a cross slide. i probably could make a ferrule with it but time again .. i already have the ferrules
Making ferrules or replacing tenons should be normal work you can do. I would suggest getting a tailstock or some mini boring tools for your cross slide.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Michael Webb
AzB Silver Member
Michael Webb has a reputation beyond reputeMichael Webb has a reputation beyond reputeMichael Webb has a reputation beyond reputeMichael Webb has a reputation beyond reputeMichael Webb has a reputation beyond reputeMichael Webb has a reputation beyond reputeMichael Webb has a reputation beyond reputeMichael Webb has a reputation beyond reputeMichael Webb has a reputation beyond reputeMichael Webb has a reputation beyond reputeMichael Webb has a reputation beyond repute
 
Michael Webb's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,933
vCash: 500
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: RI
   
06-23-2019, 03:26 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cueman View Post
Making ferrules or replacing tenons should be normal work you can do. I would suggest getting a tailstock or some mini boring tools for your cross slide.

Well said.


Best Wishes
Michael Webb
webbcues@cox.net
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.