Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Main Category > Main Forum
Reload this Page is it possible to double hit without an object ball?
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
is it possible to double hit without an object ball?
Old
  (#1)
longhair
Boyd Porter-Reynolds
longhair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 669
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago suburbs
   
is it possible to double hit without an object ball? - 03-04-2005, 11:14 PM

Hey Bob Jewett and all the other physics types:

If you hit very very softly, especially with a follow stroke, sometimes you might hear or feel a funny vibration. Is it possible that this is actually a multiple contact?


Boyd
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
sjm
Sweating the 2017 Mosconi
sjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond repute
 
sjm's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 14,634
vCash: 525
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York, NY
   
03-04-2005, 11:28 PM

Not sure what physics has to do with it, but the answer is yes, you can double hit the cue ball even when there is no object ball near the cue ball. Obviously, the danger of doing so is far less in this situation.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
longhair
Boyd Porter-Reynolds
longhair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 669
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago suburbs
   
03-04-2005, 11:38 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjm
Not sure what physics has to do with it, but the answer is yes, you can double hit the cue ball even when there is no object ball near the cue ball. Obviously, the danger of doing so is far less in this situation.
I guess I should say that I meant unintentionally. I mean a single clean stoke as if to move the cueball two or four feet, depending on conditions. I'm really asking about the feeling, or noise, of the shot. Like a slight ferrule or joint imperfection, but only some times.


Boyd
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Rod
AzB Silver Member
Rod has a reputation beyond reputeRod has a reputation beyond reputeRod has a reputation beyond reputeRod has a reputation beyond reputeRod has a reputation beyond reputeRod has a reputation beyond reputeRod has a reputation beyond reputeRod has a reputation beyond reputeRod has a reputation beyond reputeRod has a reputation beyond reputeRod has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,517
vCash: 500
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix
   
03-04-2005, 11:45 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by longhair
I guess I should say that I meant unintentionally. I mean a single clean stoke as if to move the cueball two or four feet, depending on conditions. I'm really asking about the feeling, or noise, of the shot. Like a slight ferrule or joint imperfection, but only some times.

Maybe that's what you have, a loose ferrule , tip not completely glued on (common), loose weight screw or butt rubber plug.

Rod
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
longhair
Boyd Porter-Reynolds
longhair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 669
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago suburbs
   
03-05-2005, 12:10 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodd
Maybe that's what you have, a loose ferrule , tip not completely glued on (common), loose weight screw or butt rubber plug.

Rod
Yeah, I know. But I really don't think that's what it is. I'm not doing a very good job of asking a question. Have you ever felt a slight vibration, on a very soft follow shot, with a cue that is otherwise completely solid?


Boyd
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
chefjeff
No sides, only players
chefjeff has a reputation beyond reputechefjeff has a reputation beyond reputechefjeff has a reputation beyond reputechefjeff has a reputation beyond reputechefjeff has a reputation beyond reputechefjeff has a reputation beyond reputechefjeff has a reputation beyond reputechefjeff has a reputation beyond reputechefjeff has a reputation beyond reputechefjeff has a reputation beyond reputechefjeff has a reputation beyond repute
 
chefjeff's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 52,834
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
   
03-05-2005, 07:18 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by longhair
Hey Bob Jewett and all the other physics types:

If you hit very very softly, especially with a follow stroke, sometimes you might hear or feel a funny vibration. Is it possible that this is actually a multiple contact?
Bob Byrne (or was it Jewett?) did an article in BD a few years ago and talked about an experiment a college student did that, using high-speed photography, showed without a doubt that the cuetip hits the cueball at least 5 to 6 times on every shot.

So, now what?

Jeff Livingston
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
sjm
Sweating the 2017 Mosconi
sjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond reputesjm has a reputation beyond repute
 
sjm's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 14,634
vCash: 525
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York, NY
   
03-05-2005, 08:26 AM

I am suddenly reminded of what our recently departed friend John Ervolino used to say when he felt his opponent was guilty of a double hit. Johnny would look his opponent in the eye and say "you hit that at least twice."
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
DaveK
pre-proscribed
DaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond repute
 
DaveK's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 11,864
vCash: 526
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Blog Entries: 1
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Look up .... way up !
   
03-05-2005, 12:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by longhair
Yeah, I know. But I really don't think that's what it is. I'm not doing a very good job of asking a question. Have you ever felt a slight vibration, on a very soft follow shot, with a cue that is otherwise completely solid?
I do an exersize for practicing soft shots, put the cb in the jaws of a corner pocket and try to take as many strokes as possible (hit the cb as short as possible) over to the nearest other corner. I also do this trying to shoot the cb 1/4 diamond, 1/2 diamond, 3/4 etc. When I started this practice a few years ago the double-hit was somewhat common. It doesn't take much of a twitch to cause a double hit when shooting that softly, from my experience only. I guess this somewhat parallel to golf where double hits most often occur on short wedge shots (ie 'soft' swings) around the green.

Dave
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
longhair
Boyd Porter-Reynolds
longhair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond reputelonghair has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 669
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago suburbs
   
03-05-2005, 01:11 PM

Thank you for your replies.

It sounds like other have felt this and understood it the way I did.

DaveK,
how did you stop making double hits in your exercise? Did it just take a smoother stoke?

cheffjeff,
I don't suppose you know where I can find that article online? As I type this I realize I haven't even checked the BD website yet. lazy.


Boyd
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Grady
Pro Player
Grady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond repute
 
Grady's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 909
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Columbia SC
   
03-05-2005, 03:26 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by longhair
Thank you for your replies.

It sounds like other have felt this and understood it the way I did.

DaveK,
how did you stop making double hits in your exercise? Did it just take a smoother stoke?

cheffjeff,
I don't suppose you know where I can find that article online? As I type this I realize I haven't even checked the BD website yet. lazy.


Most of the time the speed of the cue ball will tell you whether or not you hit the cue ball more than once. As an example, let's say the cue ball is 6 inches behind the object ball you're going to shoot and straight in towards a far pocket. You have decided to use high english and make the cue cue ball travel most of the length of a 9 foot table. If the cue ball doesn't travel pretty slowly, you've commited a foul, unless you have a great stroke and are able to execute a power follow shot in this instance.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
mjantti
Enjoying life
mjantti has a reputation beyond reputemjantti has a reputation beyond reputemjantti has a reputation beyond reputemjantti has a reputation beyond reputemjantti has a reputation beyond reputemjantti has a reputation beyond reputemjantti has a reputation beyond reputemjantti has a reputation beyond reputemjantti has a reputation beyond reputemjantti has a reputation beyond reputemjantti has a reputation beyond repute
 
mjantti's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,309
vCash: 350
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
   
03-06-2005, 02:09 PM

This has been covered in a few books:

START(
%Am3J3%Pl7K7%Wl7M6%Xm4U0%Yd4E0%Zl3K0%[g8D3%\l3J7%eA1a6
)END

If you have the cueball near the object ball and you're cutting it maybe half ball or thinner(cue direction is the red arrow) using heavy outside english, you might hit the cueball twice quite easily. The problem of perceiving this foul is the fact that there isn't much difference between the double hit speed and the legal hit speed. Only thing that changes is the path of the cueball, legal shot will have the cueball travelling along the tangent line (green arrow)and the foul shot will have the cueball travelling more towards the first cushion (blue arrow).

Any opinions on this shot ? Grady ?


Name: Mikko Jäntti
Nickname: Buddy
Cue: Tim Scruggs
Break: Predator BK2
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Age: 38
Hours per week: 0-15
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Grady
Pro Player
Grady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond reputeGrady has a reputation beyond repute
 
Grady's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 909
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Columbia SC
   
03-06-2005, 04:05 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjantti
This has been covered in a few books:

START(
%Am3J3%Pl7K7%Wl7M6%Xm4U0%Yd4E0%Zl3K0%[g8D3%\l3J7%eA1a6
)END

If you have the cueball near the object ball and you're cutting it maybe half ball or thinner(cue direction is the red arrow) using heavy outside english, you might hit the cueball twice quite easily. The problem of perceiving this foul is the fact that there isn't much difference between the double hit speed and the legal hit speed. Only thing that changes is the path of the cueball, legal shot will have the cueball travelling along the tangent line (green arrow)and the foul shot will have the cueball travelling more towards the first cushion (blue arrow).

Any opinions on this shot ? Grady ?


I'm not a scientist but I'll tell you what I think happens on this shot. Before doing so let me say that I'm not at all sure how long the cue stick stays in contact with the cue ball, time or distance. Or whether what english is used affects the length of time those aforementioned spheres touch each other.
I believe that the stick stays in contact long enough on the shot you've shown, that it is still in contact when the cue ball hits the object ball. The striking of the object ball causes the cue ball to veer off to the left a bit and while this changes the course of the cue ball I don't think it is a foul.
Personally, I have always lobbied for fouless push shots. So such an action couldn't be a foul.
In closing let me say that Tony of Black Boar believes that the amount of time the stick stays in contact with the object ball is the exact amount of time that it takes for the shock wave of the collision to travel from the butt of the cue to the tip and back. I'm not sure I require this much info in my game but I do hope I was of some help to you.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 15,702
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
03-06-2005, 05:31 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by chefjeff
Bob Byrne (or was it Jewett?) did an article in BD a few years ago and talked about an experiment a college student did that, using high-speed photography, showed without a doubt that the cuetip hits the cueball at least 5 to 6 times on every shot....
Nope. Most shots are single hits. Hal Mix related a third-hand story of an ultra-high-speed video that was made (on real film) a long time ago, but the details of the experiment are not known. My suspicion is that for that film, the shaft was directed at the ball by an air gun or a small cannon. See "Dr. Dave" Alciatore's high-speed videos for more recent results.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
DaveK
pre-proscribed
DaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond reputeDaveK has a reputation beyond repute
 
DaveK's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 11,864
vCash: 526
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Blog Entries: 1
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Look up .... way up !
   
03-06-2005, 08:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by longhair
DaveK,
how did you stop making double hits in your exercise? Did it just take a smoother stoke?
Yep, as my stroke got smoother the hit got cleaner. Its hard to put a smooth stroke on the ball when barely moving the cue stick forward.

As a secondary exersize, and one where the double is even more likely, try to shoot the cb into an ob as softly as possible from one side of the table to the other. As you get better at hitting this soft the difficulty goes up because the balls get closer together !

Dave, who still whacks the CB a few times on ultra-soft shots now and then, and calls a foul if the opponent doesn't see it
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
CaptainJR
Shiver me timbers.
CaptainJR has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainJR has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainJR has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainJR has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainJR has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainJR has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainJR has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainJR has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainJR has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainJR has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainJR has a reputation beyond repute
 
CaptainJR's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,704
vCash: 600
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Mar 2004
   
03-07-2005, 06:25 AM

Is it possible to double hit without an object ball?

Well I know it is now! This isn't really what you all are talking about but it happened to me this weekend so I'll mention it. I was left safe behind my opponents balls. It was 8-ball and I think he had six of his high balls left on the table. With his balls all over the place I didn't see any way to kick at either of my two balls. I was about one inch from his ball so a normal jump shot wasn't possible so I tried to hit the cue ball straight into the rail and make it jump back toward me. You all know the shot and I've done it successfully before, but this time I didn't get my cue stick out of the way quick enough. There is plenty of time to get it out of the way when playing this. I just wasn't, oh I don't know, alert or ready or something. So there you have it. A double hit without an object ball.


CaptJR
Avast Ya Scurvy Scum. Swab the deck! Walk the plank. Dead men tell no tales. Where's me Rum!
  
Reply With Quote
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.