Olhausen Belmont/Americana

ThisIsMyUserNam

Registered
All,

I am in the market for a table, knowing very little. My wife insists we buy new because of a previous bad experience with used. I spoke to the local store and he recommend the Olhausen Belmont/Americana which he has for $2K. He says that I wouldn't really notice the difference if I bought a higher end table, since I'm no pro, and that the Belmont is a very good table: all hard woods, etc. I couldn't find much more info, so can someone provide some thoughts: is this a good table? Is this a good buy? Is there a reason I would want a better table? Would a higher end table play better or last longer?

Also, he recommended that I get a cloth upgrade and the better playset (balls, cues etc.) as the standard package isn't great. Is that true?

Thanks for the advice!!

Skess

Another sidearmer...
Silver Member
I have an Olhausen Monterey (Modern Series) and I love it. I had them put the 860 Simonis (not standard) on it and 2 years later, it's still playing great.

I'm not a pro, but I do take my pool seriously. Olhausen are good tables. We had one in my family for years and it took quite a beating as we grew up.

For the money, they are a good home table. And yes, I would upgrade the ball set as well.

One thing I noticed on the tables you mentioned was that they are only available in 7 and 8 footers. Just thought I'd point that out.

hdgis1

I could be way off on this....I'd skip the cloth and ball upgrade and check to see how much they will cost you from a third party.

Chris

Tom M

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
All,