Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Main Category > Main Forum
Reload this Page 10 ball - what happened here?
Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
10 ball - what happened here?
Old
  (#1)
dyenom
AzB Bronze Member
dyenom is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jun 2016
   
10 ball - what happened here? - 07-20-2016, 06:47 PM

What happened at 47:20 in this video? Dechaine shoots the 8 ball, Sigel comes out, looks at the shot, and passes it back to him.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EBZ1sYM2psA
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
PoolBum
Abracadabra!

PoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond repute
 
PoolBum's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 11,607
vCash: 1190
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: State of Confusion
   
07-20-2016, 07:00 PM

I assume they're playing call-shot where if you call a ball and miss the other person has the option of making you shoot again. This avoids the possibility of someone calling a ball but then intentionally playing safe.


"He knew what those jubilant crowds did not know, but could have learned from books; that the plague bacillus never dies or disappears for good...and that perhaps the day would come when, for the bane and the enlightening of men, it would rouse up its rats again and send them forth to die in a happy city."
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
dyenom
AzB Bronze Member
dyenom is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jun 2016
   
07-20-2016, 07:02 PM

Makes sense. I just saw it happen again. He shot a 2-10 combo and missed and he passed the shot back. I've watched a lot of 10-ball and never seen that before. Good to know.

Thanks for the response.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sixpack
AzB Silver Member
sixpack has a reputation beyond reputesixpack has a reputation beyond reputesixpack has a reputation beyond reputesixpack has a reputation beyond reputesixpack has a reputation beyond reputesixpack has a reputation beyond reputesixpack has a reputation beyond reputesixpack has a reputation beyond reputesixpack has a reputation beyond reputesixpack has a reputation beyond reputesixpack has a reputation beyond repute
 
sixpack's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 9,333
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Blog Entries: 3
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CA
   
07-20-2016, 07:55 PM

If you make a ball you didn't call in 10-ball it's your opponent's choice to shoot it or make you shoot from there.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
dyenom
AzB Bronze Member
dyenom is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jun 2016
   
07-20-2016, 08:07 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sixpack View Post
If you make a ball you didn't call in 10-ball it's your opponent's choice to shoot it or make you shoot from there.
What threw me off is that Dechaine didn't make the ball. He shot the 8 like he was trying to cut it in and missed. The following shot was wide open - just a long rail bank.

I noticed a while later they were calling safeties I just didn't notice it until a while after I had submitted the post.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
9andout
Hope to run 50+...someday

9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute
 
9andout's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,510
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mt. Delaware
   
07-21-2016, 10:44 AM

It would have to be call shot and call safe.
I've watched some tournaments where they just at call shot.
So the 2 way shot is still a factor.


In training for the "Senior Division" By then I might actually be decent! Still love Earl!!
Lover of shot clocks!
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
lakeman77
AzB Silver Member
lakeman77 has a reputation beyond reputelakeman77 has a reputation beyond reputelakeman77 has a reputation beyond reputelakeman77 has a reputation beyond reputelakeman77 has a reputation beyond reputelakeman77 has a reputation beyond reputelakeman77 has a reputation beyond reputelakeman77 has a reputation beyond reputelakeman77 has a reputation beyond reputelakeman77 has a reputation beyond reputelakeman77 has a reputation beyond repute
 
lakeman77's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 586
vCash: 2900
iTrader: 59 / 100%
Join Date: Jan 2010
   
07-21-2016, 11:59 AM

so if you call a pocket and miss the opponent can give it back to you?
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
alstl
AzB Silver Member
alstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond reputealstl has a reputation beyond repute
 
alstl's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 8,203
vCash: 500
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Over the hill
   
07-21-2016, 12:05 PM

I don't like the rule. The 2 way shot is a staple of a lot of high level players.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
GideonF
AzB Silver Member
GideonF has a reputation beyond reputeGideonF has a reputation beyond reputeGideonF has a reputation beyond reputeGideonF has a reputation beyond reputeGideonF has a reputation beyond reputeGideonF has a reputation beyond reputeGideonF has a reputation beyond reputeGideonF has a reputation beyond reputeGideonF has a reputation beyond reputeGideonF has a reputation beyond reputeGideonF has a reputation beyond repute
 
GideonF's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,608
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Toronto, Ontario
   
07-21-2016, 01:53 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lakeman77 View Post
so if you call a pocket and miss the opponent can give it back to you?
Yes - in the call shot/call safe version. This is a rule in place in some tournaments, but is obviously not the standard WPA world 10b rules.


Regards,

Gideon

“The race is not always to the swift, nor the battle to the strong; but that is the way to bet.” Hugh Keough.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Jeff Rosen
AzB Silver Member
Jeff Rosen has a reputation beyond reputeJeff Rosen has a reputation beyond reputeJeff Rosen has a reputation beyond reputeJeff Rosen has a reputation beyond reputeJeff Rosen has a reputation beyond reputeJeff Rosen has a reputation beyond reputeJeff Rosen has a reputation beyond reputeJeff Rosen has a reputation beyond reputeJeff Rosen has a reputation beyond reputeJeff Rosen has a reputation beyond reputeJeff Rosen has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 245
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Long Island
   
07-21-2016, 04:12 PM

When I was in the Mega Bucks League we played 8, 9, & 10 Ball in alternate weeks. When we played 10 ball we played call shot, call safety. I understand this is the basic format for pro 10 ball. You just don't see it happen so much because pro's have very few unforced errors. If they call a shot they almost always make it. If they feel there's a chance they can miss they won't take the chance and call safety.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
9andout
Hope to run 50+...someday

9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute9andout has a reputation beyond repute
 
9andout's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,510
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mt. Delaware
   
07-21-2016, 06:12 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lakeman77 View Post
so if you call a pocket and miss the opponent can give it back to you?
Yes because you didn't call safe.
If you call safe you can't shoot again. Your opponent has to shoot. (Can't pass it back)
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.