Cheap Cue Recommendation

Shannon.spronk

Anybody read this?
Silver Member
So I am currently a college student. I am also a veteran. At my school a lot of the veterans hang out together and recently between classes I have gotten them into playing pool. The tables are free and the cues are all pretty beat up. Out of the roughly 15 cues that are near the pool tables only 3 had tips left on them. I want to buy a couple cues for myself and the other veterans to use. We want ones that we can take care of and keep out of the hands of some of the younger students that are beating the cues up. The guys really enjoy pool and I have even gotten them to go away from bar rules to ball in hand rules.

Anyone have any thoughts?

Zphix

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
If you can afford some baseline Players cues, I'd recommend those.

Dufferin and Rage also makes some decent quality, low-priced cues, as well.

Then, when I was in Green Bay, the University had 4 McDermott cues available for students who were V.I.P members.

Seyberts.com is also one of the best online retailers!

Ched

"Hey ... I'm back"!
Silver Member
Recommendations depend a lot on what you consider "cheap", but off the top of my head:

< $100 Players, Rage, Lucky and Star from McDermott come to mind and the one I'd suggest, Dufferin

$100 - $120 I'd probably suggest Schmelke cues.

$200 I'd likely suggest Lucasi

magicrat69210

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
McDermott......players r good too, but if possible I would go with McDermott just because I think it will last longer being in a hot car and banged around for a few years....YMMV

PhilosopherKing

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I don't have first-hand experience with them, but some of the ASKA cues on ebay seem to be on par with Players, and you can get 4 or 5 for around 100-120 bucks shipped.

Burnett Custom Cues

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member