10 Ball rule question

JBB2388

Banger Extraordinaire
Silver Member
I haven't played much 10 ball but I've watched a lot of it. I know sometimes game rules can vary slightly between tournaments and matches. My question is regarding a shot in the Strickland/Reyes match at Steinway. The shot by Efren happens around 49:15 in the video. Efren snookers himself and has to kick at the 1 ball. He makes a clean hit, no other balls are pocketed yet he stays at the table??? Why isn't the next shot Earl's? Is it because he called the 4 ball and didn't call safe? Thanks.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IgntH2PWwvw&list=WLE4D7C01A3FA9ADF4#t=49m15s
 
Last edited:
Passback Rule.

10 ball is call pocket and safe. If you call a pocket, miss, and hook the CB, your opponent has the option to pass the shot back. Like a push out. If you call safe and hook the CB, your opponent has to shoot.

Efren probably called the top right corner, missed, and hooked the CB behind the 2.
 
The official world standardized 10 ball rules though are call shot but not call safe. In other words in most 10 ball events if a ball isn't pocketed incorrectly there is no passback option. It's the difference between call shot and call shot/call safe.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
Back
Top