A few years ago,I was playing in an APA 9ball singles qualifier@the local level. I won my first two roundsand when I got to the finals,the guy I was playing did not play on a 9 ball team.I asked him how could he play if he was not on an active team.He said if he won he would get on a team.The rules state you must be on an active team in the format in which you are playing. I asked the league operator about this rule.Her reply was "I have latitude with the rules".What are your thoughts on this?
He had to have had a 8ball handicap to be playing, just not on a 9ball team. I showed up to a APA event once (local) that was 8ball but no one mentioned that there wouldnt be a 9ball tourney too... My LO made the same exception for me. If I won, I had to join a 8ball team and meet 8ball qualifications before I could go to regionals... I didnt think anything of it. Actually a smart move by the LO. If I would have won, I would have ended up spending alot more money playing 8ball weekely, and probably would have started another team (I am look time captain of 9 ball teams)... Ive allowed many APA 8ball players to join my 9ball teams inevitably, they get killed for awhile usinf the APA 8ball handicap they had established and either drop SL's in 9ball or get much better. I have never seen a SL3-4-5-6 come over and be considered "strong" at that same SL for 9ball.
and why would you care? if he was using a 8ball handicap to play you in 9ball ? until you get to SL8+ 9ball handicaps (at least here in my area (VERY populated Central Florida)) are generally are generally lower than 8ball handicaps... So if he was a SL6 in 8ball and playing you at that SL in 9ball... you should have destroyed him.