one pocket question

bigpin22

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I made a ball in my opponents pocket and jumped an object ball off the table. What should happen?

Spot the ball that jumped off the table and one of my previously pocketed balls.

Spot the ball that jumped off the table, the ball I made in my opponents pocket, and one of my previously pocketed balls.

Spot only the ball that jumped off the table.
 
I made a ball in my opponents pocket and jumped an object ball off the table. What should happen?

Spot the ball that jumped off the table and one of my previously pocketed balls.

Spot the ball that jumped off the table, the ball I made in my opponents pocket, and one of my previously pocketed balls.

Spot only the ball that jumped off the table.

Spot your ball, his ball and the ball that went off the table too. :smile:
 
Spot the ball that jumped off the table and one of my previously pocketed balls.

Since the c/b did not scratch or jump off the table the pocketed ball stays down. Since its a foul it costs you 1.

Rod
 
Well the answer depends on if you are playing jumped object balls off the table are a foul or not. Lots of one pocket players do not play it as a foul. Now you know another thing you must stipulate before you start a new one hole session.

My 3 standard rule clarifications before a session are:

1. Are we playing 3 fouls?
2. Are we playing the edge of the ball or the middle of the ball BIH line?
3. Is a jumped object ball a foul?
 
I made a ball in my opponents pocket and jumped an object ball off the table. What should happen?

Spot the ball that jumped off the table and one of my previously pocketed balls.

Spot the ball that jumped off the table, the ball I made in my opponents pocket, and one of my previously pocketed balls.

Spot only the ball that jumped off the table.

You can't pocket a ball on a foul so you owe a ball. the ball you pocketed gets spotted and the ball that went off the table gets spotted
 
While not everyone plays by the same rules, I think Rod and Scott have it correct; your opponents ball stays down. Here is the applicable rule from onepocket.org

"6.2 Any scratch or foul results in the end of the shooter’s inning, as well as a standard one ball penalty. All balls pocketed in the shooter’s pocket as a result of a stroke that includes a foul do not count for the shooting player and are to be immediately spotted, along with the standard one ball penalty. Also, any balls pocketed in the opponent’s pocket on a stroke that ends in either a pocket scratch or with the cue ball off the table are not to be counted for the opponent, and are to be immediately spotted. However, on a stroke when any other foul is committed (such as a push shot, double-hit or illegal ball contact), any balls scored into the opponent’s pocket are to stay down and be counted for the opponent."

This rule was actually worded this way to discourage a very sneaky and unethical intentional foul shot, but it also applies in this situation.
 
While not everyone plays by the same rules, I think Rod and Scott have it correct; your opponents ball stays down. Here is the applicable rule from onepocket.org

"6.2 Any scratch or foul results in the end of the shooter’s inning, as well as a standard one ball penalty. All balls pocketed in the shooter’s pocket as a result of a stroke that includes a foul do not count for the shooting player and are to be immediately spotted, along with the standard one ball penalty. Also, any balls pocketed in the opponent’s pocket on a stroke that ends in either a pocket scratch or with the cue ball off the table are not to be counted for the opponent, and are to be immediately spotted. However, on a stroke when any other foul is committed (such as a push shot, double-hit or illegal ball contact), any balls scored into the opponent’s pocket are to stay down and be counted for the opponent."

This rule was actually worded this way to discourage a very sneaky and unethical intentional foul shot, but it also applies in this situation.

Although in most games a ball leaving the table is a foul, in one pocket I've never heard of anyone calling a ball leaving the table a foul except the cue ball. Normally it is just spotted unless another foul is committed also and then a penalty ball is spotted.

Dick
 
I made a ball in my opponents pocket and jumped an object ball off the table. What should happen?

Spot the ball that jumped off the table and one of my previously pocketed balls.

Spot the ball that jumped off the table, the ball I made in my opponents pocket, and one of my previously pocketed balls.

Spot only the ball that jumped off the table.
The only fouls for which your opponent's ball comes back up when you make it are if the cue ball goes into a pocket or goes off the table on the shot that pockets your opponent's ball. Neither of those things happened, so your opponent keeps the ball.

I think this is covered pretty well in the rules at www.onepocket.org.
 
Although in most games a ball leaving the table is a foul, in one pocket I've never heard of anyone calling a ball leaving the table a foul except the cue ball. Normally it is just spotted unless another foul is committed also and then a penalty ball is spotted.

Dick

My point was that whether you are playing balls off the table as a foul or not, which varies in different pool halls, the opponents ball stays down either way.
 
Bob's right.

Bob Jewett's got this one right.

Bigpin22...Your opponents ball stay's down. The object ball that flew off the table is spotted and it's your opponents shot.

Only a foul if the cue ball came off the table.

Karate-
 
Bob Jewett's got this one right.

Bigpin22...Your opponents ball stay's down. The object ball that flew off the table is spotted and it's your opponents shot.

Only a foul if the cue ball came off the table.

Karate-

Like some have said, you need to confirm with your opponent how you are playing. Lots of people play OB off table is not a foul, but some people are used to any ball off the table is a foul.

I have a DCC match, I think its Corey and Larry, and when Corey forces an OB off the table he spots that object ball and one of his for the foul. The tournament director (cant believe I cant think of his name right now LOL) happens to be doing commentary with Mark Wilson, and when they look up to the booth he confirms that Corey needs to spot one for the foul.


Woody
 
Back
Top