Tiger vs. SS360 Shafts

I’d like to find out the communities recommendations of the two brands and two models of each shaft I am considering.

As far as my experience/ability. I have been playing pool seriously for about 20 years and have been in the APA for 17 years. I purchased my own table a year or so ago and am putting in about 7 – 10 hours of pool in each week. I am ranked a five in both 8 and 9 ball and can most the time use draw, follow and masse to get to or near the position I am trying to get to on the table, but still working to use those effectively on a consistent bases. I am just starting to adjust for cue ball squirt so I figured that this would be the time to consider a LD shaft.

I am considering the Tiger Ultra LD and X Pro as well as the SS360/2 standard and pro versions and have seen information on the boards about each but no comparison.
• Regarding moving from a 12.75 tip to a 11.75 tip, will I notice a big difference on miss-cues. I have only used a 12.75 mm tip so far but usually (about 85-90% of the time) hit the spot on the cue ball that I am trying to hit based on the action I am trying to get on the ball.

• Regarding Deflection and feel, how do you think the two Tiger and Sweet Spot shafts compare. If I am going to drop $200 on a new LD shaft, I would like there to be much less deflection than what you experience from a standard maple shaft but don’t want to sacrifice the feel too much. I am currently using a Dale Perry Stage iv shaft on one cue and a G-Core on another.

• Have you or anyone you know put a standard uni-loc radial shaft on the proprietary pin that Dale Perry uses on his cues? I was told that that it is close fit but not exact. Will I be doing damage to the threads on the shaft by screwing in a DP pin repeatedly?

Thank you in advance for any advice that you can offer.

SandFox

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member