break shot question

pmata814

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
When I set up the side break shot to open the rack (i'm right handed). After breaking the stack the cue ball runs all the way down to the foot rail leaving me with a very long first shot. I tried putting a little bit of follow and I scratch in the corner pocket. What am I doing wrong? How can I control the cue ball so it stays near the center of the table?

Any input is greatly appreciated.

P.S.
I'm fairly new to pool and completely new to straight pool. I've purchased some books and vids (rempe, mathews, capelle) to try to learn the game, so I appreciate the patience :)

krupa

The Dream Operator
Silver Member
When I set up the side break shot to open the rack (i'm right handed). After breaking the stack the cue ball runs all the way down to the foot rail leaving me with a very long first shot. I tried putting a little bit of follow and I scratch in the corner pocket. What am I doing wrong? How can I control the cue ball so it stays near the center of the table?

P.S.
I'm fairly new to pool and completely new to straight pool. I've purchased some books and vids (rempe, mathews, capelle) to try to learn the game, so I appreciate the patience :)

It sounds like you're trying to run balls, not necessarily play straight pool. If that assumption is incorrect, you can ignore the rest of this...

I'm fairly new to straight pool myself and used to practice by just trying to run balls. However, this isn't all that useful when it comes to playing against an opponent because I WILL miss a shot and I WILL have to play safe. And I will RARELY get an ideal break shot. Just trying to get high runs means I never practice all those other aspects of the game.

So instead, I've shifted my 14.1 practice to literally playing the game against myself. I still try to run balls but in context of a game*. I break, play safe, deal with less-than-perfect break shots, etc. (I just don't keep score because it's way too confusing.)