GC I - question about the slate.

tjohnson

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Hi all,

I am in the market for a used Gold Crown and stumbled across a GC 1 that is near to me. After scouring this forum I gathered that many GC1s came with "brunstone" rather than slate. The seller sent me this photo of the bed and it sure looks gray like slate but I was wondering if anyone can tell if this is brunstone or slate. Did any GC 1s come with actual slate?

Many thanks in advance!

TJ

plshrk22

A Holes Billiards
Silver Member
Are you sure thats a Gold Crown I? Is that one of the skirts in the photo?

tjohnson

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I think it is a GC 1. There is a sticker on it that says "Model AR-6100 series" and the owner says it is"late 60s". Should be GC1, no? And I think that is a skirt...

Thanks!

plshrk22

A Holes Billiards
Silver Member
Im no expert in the field but I believe the Gold Crown I tables had painted skirts. I think it could be an early GCII

fastone371

Certifiable
Silver Member
Im no expert in the field but I believe the Gold Crown I tables had painted skirts. I think it could be an early GCII

I think the first stained/natural wood looking GCs were GCIIIs, all GCIs and GCIIs were painted I think.

plshrk22

A Holes Billiards
Silver Member
Im fairly positive that the GCII came with the natural wood skirts with silver castings. The GCIII had the Nickel/Copper castings.

realkingcobra

Silver Member
Hi all,

I am in the market for a used Gold Crown and stumbled across a GC 1 that is near to me. After scouring this forum I gathered that many GC1s came with "brunstone" rather than slate. The seller sent me this photo of the bed and it sure looks gray like slate but I was wondering if anyone can tell if this is brunstone or slate. Did any GC 1s come with actual slate?

Many thanks in advance!

TJ