Goodbye Sniper ... Onyx rules!

tedkaufman

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I've been playing with Sniper tips for about 3 years. I had tried a multitude of layered tips before choosing Sniper. I still feel there is very little not to recommend a Sniper--it feels good (hit), holds its shape, lasts forever, and grabs the cueball amazingly well. It plays like a soft tip, yet has the properties of a hard tip--hit, shape and durability. But Sniper now takes a back seat.

Enter Onyx! The manufacturer, Tiger, states it's made from the same skins as Sniper, but the layers are cured for some months, which turns them black. Cool. I never liked the pale blue color of Sniper tips.

But the real business of a tip is performance, and here the Onyx shines. It's a firmer tip than Sniper. I would compare it hardness-wise to Kamui Black Soft, without the click; it has a solid thud, similar to a good Triangle tip. Also, Sniper tips used to take me a week of playing until it didn't feel spongy. Onyx felt great right away.

All things considered, this is the best tip I've ever used.

champ2107

Banned
i too am a sniper lover!! and also dont like the blue color lol i will try one of those if there available around here.

JumpinJoe

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
i too am a sniper lover!! and also dont like the blue color lol i will try one of those if there available around here.

You can always have whomever puts your tip on, to spin it on the lathe and use a marker to make it black or brown. Looks better that way.

But I agree those 2 Tiger tips both feel and play well.

juspooln

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member