Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Main Category > Cuesports: Rules & Strategies
Reload this Page 8 ball rules Q - hypothetical monster break
Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
8 ball rules Q - hypothetical monster break
Old
  (#1)
doitneatly
AzB Bronze Member
doitneatly is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 12
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Minnesota
   
8 ball rules Q - hypothetical monster break - 07-06-2017, 01:08 PM

The various online rulebooks don't mention this practically-impossible circumstance, but I want to be ready just in case it happens to me!?


Imagine an 8ball league in which the table is open after the break.
Then imagine some lucky/impressive once-in-a-lifetime sledgehammer break where all seven of the striped balls are potted by the break. (The odds of this are vanishingly small, but I don't think they're zero)
This miraculous break also did not sink the cue ball or the 8-ball.

Once the celebratory cheering dies down...

Does the breaker now have a choice to shoot at the 8-ball for his very first shot?

I think the official answer is no, his only choice for a first shot is to shoot at one of the solid balls, because that table is still open. (his best strategy might be to intentionally MISS one of the solid balls, but that's a separate point...)

Do you agree?
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
hurricane145
AzB Silver Member
hurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond repute
 
hurricane145's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 93
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Nov 2012
   
07-07-2017, 08:55 PM

Playing on a sheet of ice maybe?
In any event it should be child's play to run out the rest of the solids with no stripes running interference. In a league game I would be more than happy to give that a shot. It should also be easy to plan things to keep the 8 ball in a safe place in case I were to miss. Additionally it should get me a decent shot at the eight ball that I may not have after the break. Missing on purpose gives the opponent too much opportunity unless there is a really good safety involved.
Clearly the rules need some work!

I used to hear of a hustle where after the break I get to take all of my choice of the solids or stripes off the table and you only have to shoot in the 8 ball. You will never get a decent shot at it! A pretty similar situation.

Last edited by hurricane145; 07-07-2017 at 09:12 PM.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
M.G.
AzB Silver Member
M.G. has a reputation beyond reputeM.G. has a reputation beyond reputeM.G. has a reputation beyond reputeM.G. has a reputation beyond reputeM.G. has a reputation beyond reputeM.G. has a reputation beyond reputeM.G. has a reputation beyond reputeM.G. has a reputation beyond reputeM.G. has a reputation beyond reputeM.G. has a reputation beyond reputeM.G. has a reputation beyond repute
 
M.G.'s Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,044
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
   
07-08-2017, 01:46 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by doitneatly View Post
all seven of the striped balls are potted by the break. (The odds of this are vanishingly small, but I don't think they're zero)
This miraculous break also did not sink the cue ball or the 8-ball.

Once the celebratory cheering dies down...

Does the breaker now have a choice to shoot at the 8-ball for his very first shot?

I think the official answer is no, his only choice for a first shot is to shoot at one of the solid balls, because that table is still open. (his best strategy might be to intentionally MISS one of the solid balls, but that's a separate point...)

Do you agree?
Don't agree
This was discusses a while ago in a German billard board. The rules specify that he has a choice and can elect to shoot the 8 ball; he can also elect to play the solids.

In the rules quoted there was a separate and explicit paragraph for this situation.

I also think it's logical, because why would you penalize a player for an excellent break. Also, if he elects to play stripes when the table is open, and they are gone, the natural ball to play next is of course the 8. So, it's fully in line with the rules.

Cheers,
M
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
gregcantrall
Center Ball
gregcantrall has a reputation beyond reputegregcantrall has a reputation beyond reputegregcantrall has a reputation beyond reputegregcantrall has a reputation beyond reputegregcantrall has a reputation beyond reputegregcantrall has a reputation beyond reputegregcantrall has a reputation beyond reputegregcantrall has a reputation beyond reputegregcantrall has a reputation beyond reputegregcantrall has a reputation beyond reputegregcantrall has a reputation beyond repute
 
gregcantrall's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,300
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Blog Entries: 7
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: my motor home
   
07-08-2017, 02:36 AM

I have made 7 balls on the break of an 8 ball rack. 3 from one group and 4 from the other.

If the table is still open and all of one group are gone, you can nominate and shoot the 8 ball.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.