Had my vision problem diagnosed today

bdorman

Dead money
Silver Member
I started playing pool about 8 months ago at the age of 59. I'm addicted.

But the slight double vision I've had for years never bothered me until I began playing pool. I always thought it was because of my mono-vision contact lenses (one lens for distance and the other for reading). So I made an appointment at the optometrist to solve the problem.

The bad news is it's not the contact lenses. My two eyes are pointed in slightly different directions. The right eye is straight ahead, but the left eye is pointed slightly higher and a little bit to the left.

They're going to make me a pair of glasses (to wear over the contacts) that will correct it but the arthritis in my neck makes it hard to play in glasses. I'll probably continue playing by closing my left eye (that's what I've done for the last 5 months).

Getting old's a *****!

Anyway, it's pretty easy to test your eyes. In a room with dim light, put a small light source (like a small birthday candle with a short wick) 8-10 feet away. Relax your eyes. Do you see one candlelight or two? If you see two, it can be corrected with glasses. (An optometrist's light source is better because it doesn't have any glare, but a small candle should do).

ENGLISH!

Banned
Silver Member
You're eye problem is worse than mine. I sympathize with. I hope the glasses help.

Suncerely,
RJ

ENGLISH!

Banned
Silver Member
You're eye problem is worse than mine. I sympathize with. I hope the glasses help.

Suncerely,
RJ

Tramp Steamer

One Pocket enthusiast.
Silver Member
Getting older sucks, there's no doubt about that, bdorman. But, it could be worse.
Many years ago I dated a young lady who had lost one of her eyes in a farm accident. Her father couldn't afford an artificial eye to replace the one she had lost, so he carved her one from a piece of hickory. It was quite realistic.