Simonis & Ridgeback on a Valley

ktrepal85

Banned
Hi,

I just bought a 7' valley bar box and I am planning to add Simonis cloth and Ridgeback rails to make the table play very well. I am not a table mechanic and I have never worked on a table before however I plan on doing plenty of research on the internet and performing the work myself. Before I dive into my research I have a few questions:

1. Is the Simonis installation training video worth buying for the rails and cloth?

2. Is the cloth stretcher tool worth buying?

3. Someone mentioned that there is a specific Simonis installation training video for valley tables however I cannot find it. Does it exist?

4. I have the option to buy precut Simonis cloth for the same price as uncut. Should I go for it or do you think it is cut specifically to fit a diamond table(not a valley)? Are the cloth cutting patterns on Simonis' website made for only diamonds or valleys too?

5. I keep hearing that I should level the slate before I assemble the legs however my floor is not completely level so I don't understand how I can do this. Is this step really all that necessary? Or is there an easier way to do this that I'm overlooking?

6. Can someone recommend a website for buying the 3M Fast-Bond10™ glue that is recommended?

7. At this point I am sort of clueless as to what's involved with the rail installation. I need to do my research but I am trying to order all the materials and tools online so that I can research while they are being shipped. Are there any specific tools or accessories you think I might need to buy for the rails?

Thanks in advance!

Kevin

Crash

Pool Hall Owner
Silver Member
From one DIYer to another, I'm not a mechanic and my answers are for a one time cover.
1) The Simonis Video includes a Valley installation using spray adhesive.
2) Get a Canvas Stretcher from an art supply store unless you plan to do a lot of tables. Its not absolutely neccessary but tighter is better.
3) See 1