APA Lag Question

Mike Templeton

Confidence........
Silver Member
I just started playing APA 9-ball last night, and the following situation occurred:

A player from the other team hit the side rail on his lag. Of course, he was closer, so he says he won the lag. All tournaments I have ever played had rules that if you hit the side rail, you lose the lag. I looked in the APA rulebook, but the only mention is when the lagged balls touch, that the players re-lag.

What is the APA rule on the lag? Is the lag legal if the player's lag attempt touches the side rail?

Thanks,
Mike

Jude Rosenstock

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
You have to go to the "Definitions" portion of the book.

LAG: Method used to start a match. Players simultaneously shoot a ball from behind the head string, banking it off the foot rail and back to the head of the table. Striking the side rails or any pocket results in a loss of the lag. The closest ball to the head rail wins. It is permissible to strike the head rail. If the lagged balls make contact with each other, lag over.

Thunderball

Auto rep for belly laughs
Silver Member
Same for 8B fwiw.

Side rails are not in play.

Put the rule book on the back of the john...you will be glad you did.

Jude Rosenstock

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Thunderball said:
Same for 8B fwiw.

Side rails are not in play.

Put the rule book on the back of the john...you will be glad you did.

Wow, I don't think you need to specify which game you're playing. A lag is a lag is a lag. You could be lagging to see who gets to take out the garbage and the side rails are still going to result in an automatic loss.

Thunderball

Auto rep for belly laughs
Silver Member
Wow, I don't think you need to specify which game you're playing. A lag is a lag is a lag.

Well,he did say he was new lol.
Just lending a hand.....and in this instance the john/rule book stuff is great advice no?

Last edited:

Jude Rosenstock

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Thunderball said: