3 foul rule opponents obligation

pescadoman

Randy
Silver Member
Is there a rule, as in 9 ball, where an opponent must inform the player on "2'" and get his acknowledgement?

I searched google and this forum, but could not find an answer....
 
I'm no expert, but in general, I think yes. It's opponent's responsibility to inform the player when they are on 2 fouls.
 
3rd foul responsibility

Absent a referee, the opposing player must advise the incoming player that he is on three fouls. I saw this come into play between Mike Dechaine and John Schmidt. Schmidt came to the table (in the World's 2008?). Dechaine failed to advise him that he was on two. Schmidt back scratched but did not pay the fifteen ball penalty. There was no ref present or called.
 
Let me rephrase my question.
Do you think your opponent needs to inform you that you are on 2 fouls every time you come to the table. Or just once.
That may be awhile if there is a long run involved. I believe in 9 ball it is just once.
 
Let me rephrase my question.

Do you think your opponent needs to inform you that you are on 2 fouls every time you come to the table. Or just once.

That may be awhile if there is a long run involved. I believe in 9 ball it is just once.


Huh? You will only come to the table "on two" once. You will then foul, or not, and the count resets


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Let me rephrase my question.
Do you think your opponent needs to inform you that you are on 2 fouls every time you come to the table. Or just once.
That may be awhile if there is a long run involved. I believe in 9 ball it is just once.

Usual protocol insists that you inform your opponent they're on two-fouls when it's their turn at the table. That is to say, AFTER your turn. Regardless of wording of any rulebook, as a player, this should be the way you always handle things.
 
Usual protocol insists that you inform your opponent they're on two-fouls when it's their turn at the table. That is to say, AFTER your turn. Regardless of wording of any rulebook, as a player, this should be the way you always handle things.

This was my understanding as well. Until recently we rarely played 14.1 and never competitively. Compound that with the fact that 3 foul is seldom an issue AND I couldn't find what I was looking for in a rule book.....

Thank you gentleman!
 
My BaDuh,
I was thinking the notify after the foul was committed and before your opponent sat down. It is clear after rereading that the notify is when they come to the table.
Thanks
 
This was my understanding as well. Until recently we rarely played 14.1 and never competitively. Compound that with the fact that 3 foul is seldom an issue AND I couldn't find what I was looking for in a rule book.....

Thank you gentleman!

One of the things that complicates matters is the rules are written from the point of a referee present to make judgements, when in fact almost all matches are not refereed. The last 14.1 tournament I can remember being properly refereed was 2000 US Open 14.1. I guess common sense has to prevail in our decisions.

-Dennis
 
Back
Top