8-ball rules clarification

cstrombe

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
A question has come up regarding scratching on the 8-ball. The rule in question is this (from http://home.bca-pool.com/associations/7744/files/EightBall_January2008.pdf):

"The shooter loses if he (a) fouls when pocketing the eight ball;"

I interpreted this as "The shooter loses if he fouls when shooting at the eight ball", but there are some in a group we play with who are interpreting it as "The shooter loses if he fouls when making the eight ball in the called pocket". So, a scratch on an eight ball shot is only a loss if the eight ball goes in the called pocket.

I can see an argument for both based on that wording.

Which interpretation is correct?
 
A question has come up regarding scratching on the 8-ball. The rule in question is this (from http://home.bca-pool.com/associations/7744/files/EightBall_January2008.pdf):

"The shooter loses if he (a) fouls when pocketing the eight ball;"

I interpreted this as "The shooter loses if he fouls when shooting at the eight ball", but there are some in a group we play with who are interpreting it as "The shooter loses if he fouls when making the eight ball in the called pocket". So, a scratch on an eight ball shot is only a loss if the eight ball goes in the called pocket.

I can see an argument for both based on that wording.

Which interpretation is correct?


If a player pockets the eight ball and scratches its a loss of game, but if a player fouls when shooting the eight ball and the eight ball is not pocketed then the other player gets ball in hand.
 
Back
Top