9 ball rail question

trufil

Registered
Yesterday on TV, Fisher and Lee were playing a 9 ball match and I have a question concerning an OB frozen to the rail. After playing the shot, the pro said that either the OB or the cue ball must touch another rail to be legal. The OB was on the side rail and slowly rolled into the end rail (legal). If the OB touched the side rail on the other side of the side pocket, instead of the end rail, is that legal? Also, what if the OB had hit another ball into a rail but stopped before it touched a rail?
 
Second definately legal, first..i'm99% sure is legal as well, as there are six rails (cushions for SILENCER, hehe), not 4
 
trufil said:
Yesterday on TV, Fisher and Lee were playing a 9 ball match and I have a question concerning an OB frozen to the rail. After playing the shot, the pro said that either the OB or the cue ball must touch another rail to be legal. The OB was on the side rail and slowly rolled into the end rail (legal). If the OB touched the side rail on the other side of the side pocket, instead of the end rail, is that legal? Also, what if the OB had hit another ball into a rail but stopped before it touched a rail?

I believe the BCA rules state that after contact with the object ball, the cb must be driven to a cushion, or another object ball must be driven to a cushion, or the frozen ball must be driven to a cushion which is attached to a different rail. The frozen ball contacting the cushion on the other side of the side pocket does not count as a legal shot.
 
rails

F.Y.I.
There are 4 rails on a pool table .. not 6
Per Texas Exppress rules:
6.5: Object Ball Frozen to a Rail
If the lowest numbered object ball is frozen to a rail, the player must 1) drive that object ball to another rail, or 2) drive another numbered ball to the rail resulting from a hit initiated by the lowest numbered ball struck, or 3) drive the cue ball to another rail, or 4) legally pocket a numbered ball. Failure to do any of these resulting from an object ball being frozen to the rail results in a cue ball-in- hand foul. The frozen object ball must be declared and the opponent must acknowledge prior to the shot.

John McChesney
CEO/Texas Express
 
Back
Top