9Ball Rule Query

  • Thread starter Thread starter Rick123
  • Start date Start date
R

Rick123

Guest
Hi, I run a pool site for South Africa, which mainly focuses on 8Ball. 9Ball is growing pretty fast in our country and I need to find out what the rule is on the following scenario (happenend to a couple of my friends over a money game...) as nobody on the site can answer my question clearly:

Player A fouls and the white ball is running toward another ball. Before the white connects the other ball, player A picks it up and states that he is allowed to do so. Player B got very upset as this would've moved the object ball in a much better position had player A left the white to finish running. Is what player A did legal? What is the outcome?

thanks...
 
good question. the answer is simply this, the player who reached for the white ball before it stopped, has fouled back! thus the first person who fouled now, gets ball in hand.
 
Rick123 said:
Hi, I run a pool site for South Africa, which mainly focuses on 8Ball. 9Ball is growing pretty fast in our country and I need to find out what the rule is on the following scenario (happenend to a couple of my friends over a money game...) as nobody on the site can answer my question clearly:

Player A fouls and the white ball is running toward another ball. Before the white connects the other ball, player A picks it up and states that he is allowed to do so. Player B got very upset as this would've moved the object ball in a much better position had player A left the white to finish running. Is what player A did legal? What is the outcome?

thanks...

IMO, Player A is not supposed to pick up the ball. To rectify this, Player B gets cue ball in hand and gets to put the ball that player A picked up where he/she thinks it would have gone had the cb hit it or where ever else he/she wants to put it.
 
After the initial foul the CB is NOT to be touched until all balls have stopped. Player "A" therefore has fouled by touching the CB. Player "B" has CB "in hand". Because no one can tell where any object balls MIGHT have stopped had the CB been allowed to roll to a stop, I would leave all other balls as they are.

It would also be wise to obtain a copy of the BCA Rules or the International Rules.

Troy
 
Rick123 said:
Hi, I run a pool site for South Africa, which mainly focuses on 8Ball. 9Ball is growing pretty fast in our country and I need to find out what the rule is on the following scenario (happenend to a couple of my friends over a money game...) as nobody on the site can answer my question clearly:

Player A fouls and the white ball is running toward another ball. Before the white connects the other ball, player A picks it up and states that he is allowed to do so. Player B got very upset as this would've moved the object ball in a much better position had player A left the white to finish running. Is what player A did legal? What is the outcome?

thanks...
Player A fouls and then picks up the cue ball before it hits another ball?
Player A did not do what was legal ! ..even though he may have done it as a courtesy to hand the cue ball to the other player.
...I no longer have sympathy with players who have bad pool skills ... I would GIVE the game >>>>to player B !!! ...technically, it could be under the rule of unsportsmanlike conduct...he fouled once, then by interfering with the path of the cue ball...he "deliberately" fouled again.
*special note to these circumstances...if all the players are not familiar with all of your tourney rules...I would give a strict and final warning that this cannot happen again or it will be a loss of game from now on, to the offending player. Deliberate or accidental, we should not have to determine.


Educate your players.
Tournaments need to have rigid rules. Even though while we practice and play by ourselves, we like to catch the cue ball after we miss or the cue ball may scratch...we cannot allow players to do this in a tourney. Who's to know if this is a deliberate attempt to change the outcome of the game or just a casual mistake???
I have been the tournament director in over 500 + tournaments of all sizes and prizes of all kinds and have learned that "exceptions" cause a lot of grief at a tourney. I make a point of having a rules sheet handy...available to all players ...and go over some of the more important rules with the players before we get started.
*note* In the U S Open 14.1 tournaments, back in the old days, it was a 15 point FOUL, loss of points, if you caught the cue ball when obviously going towards or into a pocket! I thought that this ruling was a little stiff when I began playing, but after the many years of running these tourneys, I now believe that the enforcement of the tournament rules must be handled equally, and as fair as possible.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top