APA 9ball WTF

NathanDetroit

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I have played APA 9 ball for several years, and have never seen or even heard of this: racking any nine balls.

The YouTube channel "Poolside Chat with Todd" has been showing the host play in an APA Tricup tournament. The first rack is a standard 1 up front with 9 in the middle, but the next rack is not necessarily the same.

Suppose the 1 is made one the break. The 2 is made on the next shot. The 9 is then pocketed in a combination. Which leads to the next rack being compromised of 1 on top with the 15 as the moneyball.

Anyone play this in league?
 
I've been playing APA 8 & 9 ball for 30 years, and what dquarasr says is a situation that can occur in 9 ball on coin operated BB tables. You are supposed to use the lowest numbered balls available. In your example., in the next rack, the 3 ball becomes the head ball (1 ball), the 10 ball becomes the 7th ball to be shot at, the 11 ball becomes the 8th ball to be shot at and the 13 ball replaces the 9 ball. you are never supposed to skip over ball numbers if this is case.
 
See it at the expo a lot on the money tables. Someone makes an early 9 or 10, just use the rest of the balls for the next rack with the same rules and the highest ball is the new money ball. No point in wasting the quarters.
 
All I can think of is that it’s a coin-op table and time ran out after the 1 was pocketed but before the 9 was, and they played the next rack with whatever balls were left in the tray so they didn’t have to feed the table more $.
Seen this happen a few times in APA league play.
 
The caveat is both players have to agree to sub balls out in the case of an early 9 on a coin-op, but I've only known one player to insist on spending the extra $.50 each to get the 9-ball back up there.

The same happens in USAPL 10-ball where the rules require the 10-ball to spot. It's actually the 11,12,13,etc... that gets spotted.
 
Super common on a coin-op when a rack is completed and there are still 9 balls available to use for the next rack.
If you play exclusively at a bar that opens the tables, you may have never had a need for it.
 
Weird, never occurred to me but I get it.

Makes me very happy I play league on non-coin-opp tables. I hate coin opp tables and hate carrying change, haha
 
Our APA plays in bars, and only a couple provide quarters, or have the table open for league. This use of another ball happens frequently when someone makes the 9 on the snap, and sometimes when only two balls have been pocketed. I find that for most newer players, and those SL4 or below, it's just easier to spend the quarters and drop the balls. We tried doing it with other balls, but people get confused, wrong balls hit, and next thing you know people are pissed and nobody is having fun. I make sure I have plenty of extra quarters so if there is any confusion about using different balls than the 1 through 9, we can just drop the balls and start fresh.
 
Back
Top