APA Rule question

jjinfla

Banned
When playing according to APA rules if a player breaking misses the 1 ball but does strike the rack but fails to make a ball or send four balls to a rail. The CB does not scratch. What is the ruling?
I did read rule #3, I just would like your interpretation. Thanks. Jake.
 
Failing to strike the one ball means the break was not a legal break, no matter how many balls hit a rail.

There was no scratch, so the balls are reracked and the same player breaks again.

-CM
 
I was thinking that failure to hit the 1-ball was a foul but APA manual, Section 7, 9-ball rules, states that missing the 1 ball on a break is not a foul. So you are right, it is just an illegal break. Rerack and break again. Thanks. Jake
 
Porter said:
Is the BCA rule the same?

BCA Rule on the break:

1. The breaker must strike the1-ball first and either pocket a ball or drive at least four numbered balls to the rail.

2. If the cue ball is pocketed or driven off the table, or the requirements of the opening break are not met, it is a foul, and the incoming player has cue ball in hand anywhere on the table.

3. If on the break shot, the breaker causes an object ball to jump off the table, it is a foul and the incoming player has cue ball in hand anywhere on the table. The object ball is not re-spotted (exception: if the object ball is the 9-ball, it is re-spotted).

So, no, the BCA rule is not the same, and would give the opponent the break in this scenario.

Under APA rules, the game commences when a legal break has been made. Under BCA rules, the game commences when the CB is struck by the tip of the cue.

-CM
 
Last edited:
In that scenerio it is not a rerack and break according to the bca rules. The incoming player would have to play the balls as they lie and would have cue ball in hand.
 
Back
Top