BCA 8-Ball rule

WKRP

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
In BCA 8-Ball rule 4.15 COMBINATION SHOTS it states:
Combination shots are allowed; however, the 8-ball can’t be used as a first ball in the combination unless it is the shooter’s only remaining legal object ball on the table. Otherwise, should such contact occur on the 8-ball, it is a foul.

I’ve always interpreted this rule as stating that if I had one object ball left I could hit the eight first to sink my ball and count it as a legal shot. Essentially making the eight ball another object ball for me.

Tonight, after a safety, I left my opponent behind the eight with no shot on his last remaining object ball. Does the eight ball become a legal “object ball” for him so that if he hits the eight and no other ball it is not a foul. It was not really possible for him to hit the eight into his last ball (unless he became Efren Reyes).
 
If the 8 is the last ball remaining for me, I can contact the 8-ball first as part of a combination. If the 8 is not the last object ball remaining for me, then contacting the 8 first is a foul.

4.15 COMBINATION SHOTS
Combination shots are allowed; however, the 8-ball can't be used as a first ball in the combination unless it is the shooter's only remaining legal object ball on the table. Otherwise, should such contact occur on the 8-ball, it is a foul.
 
WKRP said:
In BCA 8-Ball rule 4.15 COMBINATION SHOTS it states:
Combination shots are allowed; however, the 8-ball can’t be used as a first ball in the combination unless it is the shooter’s only remaining legal object ball on the table. Otherwise, should such contact occur on the 8-ball, it is a foul.

I’ve always interpreted this rule as stating that if I had one object ball left I could hit the eight first to sink my ball and count it as a legal shot. Essentially making the eight ball another object ball for me.

Tonight, after a safety, I left my opponent behind the eight with no shot on his last remaining object ball. Does the eight ball become a legal “object ball” for him so that if he hits the eight and no other ball it is not a foul. It was not really possible for him to hit the eight into his last ball (unless he became Efren Reyes).
The answer is NO. You can not use the 8ball to sink in your designated strip or solid ball. If you contact the 8ball without touching your set of balls first it is a foul. The rule states that you can use the 8 ball to play a combination. In other words, if you have sunk all your balls in, you are "on the 8ball". You can now use the 8ball to play a combination on your opponents ball, thus sinking your opponents ball without incurring a foul and surrendering ball in hand. Also, if your opponents ball is blocking a pocket where the 8ball may be sunk, you can play a combination by hitting the 8 first and force follow the 8ball into the same pocket and win the game;as long as you call the 8 into that very same pocket.
 
PoolFool said:
The answer is NO. You can not use the 8ball to sink in your designated strip or solid ball. If you contact the 8ball without touching your set of balls first it is a foul. The rule states that you can use the 8 ball to play a combination. In other words, if you have sunk all your balls in, you are "on the 8ball". You can now use the 8ball to play a combination on your opponents ball, thus sinking your opponents ball without incurring a foul and surrendering ball in hand. Also, if your opponents ball is blocking a pocket where the 8ball may be sunk, you can play a combination by hitting the 8 first and force follow the 8ball into the same pocket and win the game;as long as you call the 8 into that very same pocket.

CORRECT! You can only use the 8 ball legally as the first ball in a combination if all of your balls have been made and the 8 is your legal ball to shoot. Then it can be used as the first ball in a combination to make one of your opponents balls without incurring a foul, as stated above.

If you have a legal object ball remaining, solid or stripe, you cannot hit the 8 first. If that was legal, you could hit the 8 first any time and say "oops, I was playing a combination and I missed."
 
Back
Top