CSI BCA Rule: Illegal Break

pocket

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Can someone point me in the direction of where it explains an illegal break and penalties in 9ball?

I assume its four balls to a rail/pocketed ball or opponent chooses to re rack and break, or allow original breaker to re rack and break, or take the balls as they lie but I cannot confirm this even after downloading and searching the rule pdf.
 
http://www.playcsipool.com/uploads/7/3/5/9/7359673/2014-2015_official_rules_of_csi.pdf



3-3 Break Requirements
1. You begin the break with ball in hand behind the head string. The cue ball must
contact the 1-ball before any other ball or cushion or it is a foul. You must either legally
pocket a ball or cause at least four object balls to contact one or more cushions, or it is a
foul.
2. Jumped object balls other than the 9-ball are not returned to the table. If the 9-ball is
jumped, it is spotted.
3. If you legally pocket a ball, you continue to shoot. Your inning ends if you do not
pocket a ball or if you foul. If you legally pocket the 9-ball on the break, you win the
game. If you foul on the break and pocket the 9-ball, it is spotted.
 
http://www.playcsipool.com/uploads/7/3/5/9/7359673/2014-2015_official_rules_of_csi.pdf



3-3 Break Requirements
1. You begin the break with ball in hand behind the head string. The cue ball must
contact the 1-ball before any other ball or cushion or it is a foul. You must either legally
pocket a ball or cause at least four object balls to contact one or more cushions, or it is a
foul.
2. Jumped object balls other than the 9-ball are not returned to the table. If the 9-ball is
jumped, it is spotted.
3. If you legally pocket a ball, you continue to shoot. Your inning ends if you do not
pocket a ball or if you foul. If you legally pocket the 9-ball on the break, you win the
game. If you foul on the break and pocket the 9-ball, it is spotted.

Yes. Now, what is the penalty for an illegal break.
 
1. You begin the break with ball in hand behind the head string. The cue ball must
contact the 1-ball before any other ball or cushion or it is a foul. You must either legally
pocket a ball or cause at least four object balls to contact one or more cushions, or it is a
foul.


I saw SVB take ball in hand on such a bad break at the BCA nationals. I assume that "it is a foul" means that you get ball in hand.
 
Ball in hand for the non-breaker.

No re rack and break? That is what is spelled out under 8 ball rules just no clear indication in 9ball (beyond 'foul').

Are you guys seeing the penalty defined or just going of the mention that it is a foul?
 
No re rack and break? That is what is spelled out under 8 ball rules just no clear indication in 9ball (beyond 'foul').

Are you guys seeing the penalty defined or just going of the mention that it is a foul?

A foul is a foul. Ball in hand to the opponent. "A foul" is clear that ball in hand is the outcome.
 
No re rack and break? That is what is spelled out under 8 ball rules just no clear indication in 9ball (beyond 'foul').

Are you guys seeing the penalty defined or just going of the mention that it is a foul?

You can read the rules yourself in the link in one of the posts and see. In the rules, unlike 8 ball, there is no provision for just an illegal break (4 balls not hitting the rail for example) being any different from not hitting the 1 on the break. It's counted as a foul instead of a re-rack like you can with 8 ball. You just play from where the result is. So if you miscue and miss the rack totally, it's ball in hand for the other guy. Now they can certainly take a ball in hand break shot, or play a safe behind the stack or whatever in between. So if an "illegal break" is a foul, and the penalty for a foul is ball in hand, we can pretty much deduce that "illegal break" = ball in hand.
 
Last edited:
Per Bill Stock, Director of Rules & Referees
The rule is ball in hand for 9-ball and 10-ball

Sorry guys. I can be stubborn sometimes.
I sent Mr. Stock an email with my question and he kindly replied.

In my (feeble) defense I was told that it was same as 8ball, but that didn't sound right (and for 8ball it is the choice of re rack and break again or allow breaker to do same)

So Billiardsfan had it right from jump street. Thanks for the info.
 
Back
Top