Is this a foul?

Jude Rosenstock said:
To put it bluntly, I'm certain that if I went to the BCA Nationals in May and smashed the lights on my first break, they'd remove all the balls, sweep the table clean and replay the game. They'd likely allow my opponent to break as a penalty (and also to save money on bulbs).


Jude M. Rosenstock


That's what should be done, it's very simple. Well, unless they tossed you out for equipment abuse. LOL

Rod
 
I am a BCA / ACS National referee. The last post is exactly right. It is a foul and it is to the referee's discretion whether the game can be salvaged. If the table could be cleaned and the balls restored (one or two balls disturbed)...then the game could continued. If however (in the more likely event) the balls could not be restored then the game would be over with opponent breaking. I've seen this happen.

It is NOT considered an act of god. Although my teammates have missed outs that could only have been an act of god! :p

Here's an extra points quiz for you guys: BCA/ACS rules

Q: The game is 8 ball. Can you win or lose on the break? Think very carefully before you answer this question! (scroll down for answer)










A: You can lose on the break in 8 ball by BCA/ACS rules. If the eight ball jumps off of the table at any time during the course of a game...it is a loss. So, if you break and the eight ball jumps of the table...it is a loss!
 
Last edited:
poolboy17 said:
Here's an extra points quiz for you guys: BCA/ACS rules

Q: The game is 8 ball. Can you win or lose on the break? Think very carefully before you answer this question! (scroll down for answer)










A: You can lose on the break in 8 ball by BCA/ACS rules. If the eight ball jumps off of the table at any time during the course of a game...it is a loss. So, if you break and the eight ball jumps of the table...it is a loss!

That's a good rule to know!!
 
Jimmy M. said:
This is a little unrelated, but it just reminded me of a time when I flew the ball of the table on the break. I broke the balls, and the cue ball went flying forward, pretty high, far, and fast. Well, the ball was on a direct collision course for another player's head who was playing on the table next to me. I know I had the thought to yell out to warn the guy that the ball was coming, but I was frozen speechless! Anyway, I watched the ball streak toward the side of his head, seemingly in slow motion, and *just* before it would have nailed him, he bent down to shoot a shot, and the ball whizzed right over the top of him. Meantime, he was completely unaware of what had just happened. *whew*

Oh yeah, that was a foul! ;)

I agree it was a foul. I have another story as well... seem to be getting out of topic a lot lately :)

Reminded by Jimmy's story... More than a year ago I was shooting at a local tournament and I was aiming at a ball in the long side of the table while the table next to had a player breaking. Well, I was aiming at a difficult ball, a bank or something when suddenly I had a glimpse from a corner of my eye of something white flying between my legs... of course it was the cueball, but what gave me the shivers was that I actually felt the slight breeze created by the flying cueball in my private parts. I was wearing shorts you know... The idea of having a cueball hit me square in the crown jewels still creates some cold sweat on my forehead, because I have had the "pleasure" of having to take that pool related low "punch" in the scrotum about 10 years ago. It felt... umm... I saw "sparks" and I doubt even the great Mike Tyson could get me to fold on the floor rolling with such an immense velocity :eek:
 
breakup said:
That's a good rule to know!!


That's about as hypothetical a situation as having the cue-ball come to rest on top of the rack in a break-shot in straight-pool. It's fun to theorize what the ruling would be but what are the odds of it happening?

If you like baseball trivia, can you think of a situation where a triple-play would occur without a single fielder touching the baseball? I'll give you a hint: the bases are loaded.



Jude M. Rosenstock
 
Jude Rosenstock said:
That's about as hypothetical a situation as having the cue-ball come to rest on top of the rack in a break-shot in straight-pool. It's fun to theorize what the ruling would be but what are the odds of it happening?

If you like baseball trivia, can you think of a situation where a triple-play would occur without a single fielder touching the baseball? I'll give you a hint: the bases are loaded.



Jude M. Rosenstock

bottom of the 9th score tied no outs;
Batter's foot is touches home plate when he hits the ball in the gap. Fielders let the ball go, thinking game is over. Runner on third touches home plate for the apparent wining run. Runners go to dugout.

Batter is out (foot on home plate)
Runners are out for being in dugout.

Triple play?
 
I remember one time I was having a really really really bad day, so I stopped by the poolhall to try to blow off some steam. I was wearing a brand new watch, which I had saved money for months to buy it. I saw a group of friends playing pool at a table when I walked in, and as I was greeting everyone, my friend miscued and jumped the cueball off the table, and hit my watch dead-on and cracked the clear covering, making it so I could barely read my watch. Man, that was a bad day. I think later on my mom ran over my foot in the driveway or something like that.
 
LastTwo said:
I remember one time I was having a really really really bad day, so I stopped by the poolhall to try to blow off some steam. I was wearing a brand new watch, which I had saved money for months to buy it. I saw a group of friends playing pool at a table when I walked in, and as I was greeting everyone, my friend miscued and jumped the cueball off the table, and hit my watch dead-on and cracked the clear covering, making it so I could barely read my watch. Man, that was a bad day. I think later on my mom ran over my foot in the driveway or something like that.

That really was a bad day!

Are you going to be at Hard Times this weekend?
 
Jude Rosenstock said:
That's about as hypothetical a situation as having the cue-ball come to rest on top of the rack in a break-shot in straight-pool. It's fun to theorize what the ruling would be but what are the odds of it happening?

If you like baseball trivia, can you think of a situation where a triple-play would occur without a single fielder touching the baseball? I'll give you a hint: the bases are loaded.



Jude M. Rosenstock

Yes, that is unlikely...I misread the post
 
ball in hand on re-rack?

fxskater said:
Im with rackin Zack on this one. In 9 ball you might even offer ball in hand on the rerack, I'm not to sure if that would only apply on miscues where you just missed the rack entirely. You could also take the time to clean it up without disturbing the balls too much, giving the option to rerack or take ball in hand.

I am not too sure if I understand what you mean by "a ball in hand on rerack." In case of a miss cue, if less than 4 balls touch the rail, it is a re-rack with the other player breaking. I have seen that done many times in professional tournaments.

I have never seen the incoming player taking a ball in hand placing the cue ball any where above the head string to play safe with the rack still unbroken--I am assuming that is what you were saying, isn't it?

Any certified referee here who can clarify this, please?
 
Last edited:
Jude Rosenstock said:
That's about as hypothetical a situation as having the cue-ball come to rest on top of the rack in a break-shot in straight-pool. It's fun to theorize what the ruling would be but what are the odds of it happening?

Jude M. Rosenstock


I have been witness to it happening. Unlikely, yes. However, it has and could happen.
 
nipponbilliards said:
I am not too sure if I understand what you mean by "a ball in hand on rerack." In case of a miss cue, if less than 4 balls touch the rail, it is a re-rack with the other player breaking. I have seen that done many times in professional tournaments.

I have never seen the incoming player taking a ball in hand placing the cue ball any where above the head string to play safe with the rack still unbroken--I am assuming that is what you were saying, isn't it?

Any certified referee here who can clarify this, please?

If a legal break is not executed...it is as you say. A re-rack with opponent breaking.

BCA/ACS National Referee
 
poolboy17 said:
If a legal break is not executed...it is as you say. A re-rack with opponent breaking.

BCA/ACS National Referee

Thank you. One more question. In a game when only cue ball foul is called, if a player moves a *moving* ball after he finishes shooting, is that a foul?

Thank you very much.

Richard
 
nipponbilliards said:
Thank you. One more question. In a game when only cue ball foul is called, if a player moves a *moving* ball after he finishes shooting, is that a foul?

Thank you very much.

Richard


If I understand your question correctly...you're asking what the ruling is if a player executes a shot but accidently (or otherwise) touches a ball that is still moving? It is a foul. You cannot intentionally or unintentionally impede the progress of a moving ball.

If the ball is stationary...it is considered accidental movement. Unless the ball you move influenced the course of a moving ball. For instance, if the cueball would have rolled through that area of the moved ball or makes contact with the moved ball...it is a foul.
 
Last edited:
nipponbilliards said:
I am not too sure if I understand what you mean by "a ball in hand on rerack." In case of a miss cue, if less than 4 balls touch the rail, it is a re-rack with the other player breaking. I have seen that done many times in professional tournaments.

I have never seen the incoming player taking a ball in hand placing the cue ball any where above the head string to play safe with the rack still unbroken--I am assuming that is what you were saying, isn't it?

Any certified referee here who can clarify this, please?

If a player would miscue and send the cueball into a pocket wouldnt the incoming player have ball in hand with an unbroken rack?
 
woody_968 said:
If a player would miscue and send the cueball into a pocket wouldnt the incoming player have ball in hand with an unbroken rack?

It depends on the game the writer was speaking of. I presumed he was talking eight ball. However, in nine ball...a break foul would be ball in hand. Going back to the original post, I now see that nine ball was briefly mentioned. I missed that detail before posting.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top