one poctet rules concerning bumping balls

memphisbill

"Southaven Rec Center"
Silver Member
ONE-POCKET.ORG RULES have nothing about loosing your turn if you bump two balls as stated on accu-stats last night.
What is the rule if you bump two balls with the crutch or your hand while making a bridge?
What is the rule if you bump two balls with any object, be it cue, crutch, or hand when in the act of shooting or removing ones self from the playing area.
Please direct me to something IN WRITING so I can post them in my pool room.
. 901-277-3740
 
I don't think it's a specific one pocket rule, I am pretty sure that when people are playing cue ball foul only rules, you are OK if you accidentally touch one ball, but if two move or if the ball path you touched may have interfered with the cueball or the shot, then it's a foul.

This is from the BCA rules, see point 2.

1.33 DISTURBED BALLS (CUE BALL FOULS ONLY)
1. It is not a foul to accidentally touch one object ball. If such an accident occurs, the player shall allow the opposing player, in regular league play, or the referee, in a play-off match, to restore the ball to its correct position. If the player does not allow such restoration, and a ball set in motion as a normal part of the shot touches such an unrestored ball, or passes partly into a region originally occupied by a disturbed ball, the shot is a foul. In short, it the accident has any effect on the outcome of the shot, it is a foul. In any case, the opposing player, in regular league play, or the referee, in a play-off match, must restore the positions of the disturbed balls as soon as possible, but not during the shot. It is a foul to play another shot before the opposing player or referee has restored any accidentally moved balls.

2. It is a foul if you disturb more than one object ball.

3. It is a foul if a disturbed ball contacts any other ball.

4. It is a foul to accidently touch the cue ball.
 
Cue ball fouls only

I don't think it's a specific one pocket rule, I am pretty sure that when people are playing cue ball foul only rules, you are OK if you accidentally touch one ball, but if two move or if the ball path you touched may have interfered with the cueball or the shot, then it's a foul.

This is from the BCA rules, see point 2.

1.33 DISTURBED BALLS (CUE BALL FOULS ONLY)
1. It is not a foul to accidentally touch one object ball. If such an accident occurs, the player shall allow the opposing player, in regular league play, or the referee, in a play-off match, to restore the ball to its correct position. If the player does not allow such restoration, and a ball set in motion as a normal part of the shot touches such an unrestored ball, or passes partly into a region originally occupied by a disturbed ball, the shot is a foul. In short, it the accident has any effect on the outcome of the shot, it is a foul. In any case, the opposing player, in regular league play, or the referee, in a play-off match, must restore the positions of the disturbed balls as soon as possible, but not during the shot. It is a foul to play another shot before the opposing player or referee has restored any accidentally moved balls.

2. It is a foul if you disturb more than one object ball.

3. It is a foul if a disturbed ball contacts any other ball.

4. It is a foul to accidently touch the cue ball.

You are correct if the rules you are using call for "cue ball fouls only" as in most leagues. Different story if you're calling "all ball fouls".
 
For the DCC, moving two or more balls is a foul. Move one ball, no foul. It doesn't matter how they were moved. If two balls move as a result of something you did (bridge, arm, cue, etc.), it's a foul.

See the link below.

http://dcctickets.com/TheRules/tabid/61/Default.aspx

Under General Rules:

"Cue Ball Fouls Only: Accidentally touching or disturbing a single object ball is not a foul unless the disturbed ball has an effect on the outcome of the shot. See a referee for advice if you think this has happened. Otherwise, the opponent has the option to restore the disturbed ball or leave it in position. If the offending player attempts to restore the disturbed ball without giving their opponent the restoration option, it is a foul.

Accidentally touching or disturbing 2 or more object balls is a foul, and there is no restoration option for the disturbed balls."
 
Last edited:
You are correct if the rules you are using call for "cue ball fouls only" as in most leagues. Different story if you're calling "all ball fouls".

I find that all ball fouls are very tough to enforce unless there is a ref watching.

I mean who do you trust, the guy shooting that wants to win but may not be able to see everywhere on the table if his shirt is brushing a ball, or the guy he's playing that wants the shooter to mess up so HE can win and making the call that something may or may not have closely touched a ball.
 
At the Ultimate 10-Ball in Frisco a few years ago, they enforced all fouls and they had a formal dress code. This combination was tough as players were playing with long sleeves and I saw several fouls called for sleeves and dress shirts touching balls, even though the balls weren't noticeably disturbed.
 
Understand, these ball were not in the line of the cue ball, hence it's just concerning moved object balls. thanks for your help
 
In my home town we just play by Derby City rules where if you move one ball they have the option of moving it back. If you move 2 it's a foul and loss of turn.
 
In my home town we just play by Derby City rules where if you move one ball they have the option of moving it back. If you move 2 it's a foul and loss of turn.
:smile:

Why would anyone want play with these silly cueball-fouls-only -rules in the first place?

In the real world, if you foul, you foul.
 
Back
Top