Rule Question

slach

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
The 15th ball at the end of the rack lies in the rack, so it's spotted on the head spot and other 14 balls are racked. On the next shot the cue ball scratches so the next player has the cue ball in the kitchen. Can he legally shoot the ball on the head spot, directly into one of the side pockets?
 
Yes, per BCAPL rules it's OK to shoot any ball that is ON the head string, as the head string is not considered part of the "kitchen".

http://www.playbca.com/Downloads/Rulebook/CompleteRulebook.aspx

Look for page 89.

This being said, many people don't know the rule or, play by BCAPL rules, so, they may have a different view :sorry:

The WPA (World-Standardized) rule for this is the same as you have said for the BCAPL: "An object ball that rests exactly on the head string is playable."
 
Back
Top