Rule question

hlymnstr14

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Silver Member
Opponent has ball in hand with 2 low balls, i have 1 high ball left, and there's the 8 ball.

As opponent is getting ready to shoot, he bumps my high ball which is very close to his other ball he's not shooting.

I say just leave it. Opponent then picks up the cue ball and shoots the other ball because now it's in a better position to get out, which he does.

My question is that legal to pick up the cue ball and shoot that ball?

I didn't dispute it, but I did raise the question after the game was over.
 
Probably a little hinky, but not a foul imo. Seems like you should have the opportunity to change your mind about placement if the shooting player changed their shot. But it would probably be on you to raise that as soon as he picked up the cue ball again.
 
The other half of this situation, the part where he changed his mind and played a different shot, that is also completely legal. You're allowed to reposition the cue as many times as you want before you take your shot when having ball-in-hand.

Now if he bumped your ball while placing the cue ball, then that is a foul where he would then give BIH to his opponent.

When a ball is moved accidentally, and it's not a foul, like in your situation, it is up to the opponent to either replace it or leave it as is. Luckily for him it was a BIH situation, where he could still reposition the cue and take the other shot.
 
Opponent has ball in hand with 2 low balls, i have 1 high ball left, and there's the 8 ball.

As opponent is getting ready to shoot, he bumps my high ball which is very close to his other ball he's not shooting.

I say just leave it. Opponent then picks up the cue ball and shoots the other ball because now it's in a better position to get out, which he does.

My question is that legal to pick up the cue ball and shoot that ball?

I didn't dispute it, but I did raise the question after the game was over.
If playing CB fouls only, if your opponent touched your ball with the CB while placing it, I would consider that a foul and you have BIH. If he accidentally touched your ball with his hand or cue, you have the option to replace your ball where it was or leave it, which ever option in your opinion makes it tougher on your opponent.

Whether you opt to move your ball back or not, your opponent still has the option to change his mind on where he places the CB and what ball they decide to shoot at.
 
Every rule set is a little different, but in pretty much all rule sets, if you accidently move a ball while you have BIH, it's a foul.
 
Yeah, I honestly see no issue with this. You could have elected to move the ball back but chose not to, once you make that choice he should reevaluate the table and play the best options available to him. If that gives him an advantage, you should have moved the ball back.
 
Every rule set is a little different, but in pretty much all rule sets, if you accidently move a ball while you have BIH, it's a foul.
In cue ball only fouls, not a foul unless you move a ball with the cue ball or the hand holding the cue ball, or move multiple balls.
 
Every rule set is a little different, but in pretty much all rule sets, if you accidently move a ball while you have BIH, it's a foul.
Except in BCAPL/CSI, ACS, WAMO, WSPA.......................................In the majority of cue ball foul only rule sets accidentally moving 1 ball with BIH is only a foul if you are holding the cue ball at the same time.

It was very common in our BCAPL league that if the person shooting moved a ball the opponent would put the moved ball back where he "thought" the ball was, in most cases it went to a troublesome spot as long as it was within a ball or so of the original location. :oops::oops: Everyone did it so all you could really do is repay the favor if you got the opportunity to. It teaches you not to move balls around.
 
Opponent has ball in hand with 2 low balls, i have 1 high ball left, and there's the 8 ball.

As opponent is getting ready to shoot, he bumps my high ball which is very close to his other ball he's not shooting.

I say just leave it. Opponent then picks up the cue ball and shoots the other ball because now it's in a better position to get out, which he does.

My question is that legal to pick up the cue ball and shoot that ball?

I didn't dispute it, but I did raise the question after the game was over.
Absolutely legal. It's still ball in hand hand until he actually shoots the ball. You made the goof of allowing him the better position at the table.
 
Opponent has ball in hand with 2 low balls, i have 1 high ball left, and there's the 8 ball.

As opponent is getting ready to shoot, he bumps my high ball which is very close to his other ball he's not shooting.

I say just leave it. Opponent then picks up the cue ball and shoots the other ball because now it's in a better position to get out, which he does.
You authorized him to do that when you said leave it be.
My question is that legal to pick up the cue ball and shoot that ball?
Unscrupulous but not illegal.
I didn't dispute it, but I did raise the question after the game was over.
Settle things like this before the game begins.
 
Back
Top