Rules Question

STFLETCH

New member
Hey Folks,

I have browsed this forum for a while but this is my first post. I have a rules question for the experts out there:

The game is 8-ball, BCA "cue-ball fouls only" rules. If a player bumps a ball right into a pocket does the opponent have the option to leave it down or does it have to be replaced? I think the opponent has the option because it was bumped in and did not fall in "of itself", but I seem to be in the minority in my league.

Thanks in advance for any help.
 
STFLETCH said:
Hey Folks,

I have browsed this forum for a while but this is my first post. I have a rules question for the experts out there:

The game is 8-ball, BCA "cue-ball fouls only" rules. If a player bumps a ball right into a pocket does the opponent have the option to leave it down or does it have to be replaced? I think the opponent has the option because it was bumped in and did not fall in "of itself", but I seem to be in the minority in my league.

Thanks in advance for any help.


1.16.1 CUE BALL FOULS ONLY
When a referee is presiding over a match, it is a foul for a player to touch any ball (cue ball or object ball) with the cue, clothing, body, mechanical bridge or chalk, before, during or after a shot. However, when a referee is not presiding over a game, it is not a foul to accidentally touch stationary balls located between the cue ball and the shooter while in the act of shooting. If such an accident occurs, the player should allow the Tournament Director to restore the object balls to their correct positions. If the player does not allow such a restoration, and a ball set in motion as a normal part of the shot touches such an unrestored ball, or passes partly into a region originally occupied by a disturbed ball, the shot is a foul. In short, if the accident has any effect on the outcome of the shot, it is a foul. In any case, the Tournament Director must be called upon to restore the positions of the disturbed balls as soon as possible, but not during the shot. It is a foul to play another shot before the Tournament Director has restored any accidentally moved balls. At the non-shooting player’s option, the disturbed balls will be left in their new positions. In this case, the balls are considered restored, and subsequent contact on them is not a foul. It is still a foul to make any contact with the cue ball whatsoever while it is in play, except for the normal tip-to-ball contact during a shot.


You were right.
 
Thanks Jude.

That situation came up in a league match recently and the wrong interpretation was made and it cost us the game. The bumped-in ball was my team-mate's last object ball and he would have either a tough kick at it or an easy shot at the 8.

What if the 8 was bumped in? Loss of game, or replace it?
 
STFLETCH said:
Thanks Jude.

That situation came up in a league match recently and the wrong interpretation was made and it cost us the game. The bumped-in ball was my team-mate's last object ball and he would have either a tough kick at it or an easy shot at the 8.

What if the 8 was bumped in? Loss of game, or replace it?


If it were the 8-ball, it would definitely be replaced just like in 9-ball, if it were the 9-ball, it too would be replaced.
 
Back
Top