shopsmith mark V as a cue repair lathe?

Strange_Days

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Hi all,
Im new to this forum but I have a fair number of years playing pool. I've been a woodworker for a few years now and have always been interested in anything I can build/modify/destroy(when the modifying doesn't go so well). Lately I've been getting really interested in doing some cue repair jobs (tips, cleaning, etc...). I have been looking through a lot of the posts but I am not sure what is needed to get started. I was wondering if anyone thought a shopsmith could be modified to do these tasks. I don't know if everyone knows what a shopsmith is but it is a multi machine (saw/drill press/lathe/horizontal borer .. plus others). The reason I ask it has a pretty descent power motor, develops 1 1/2hp and it has on the fly speed control I can bring it anywhere from 700-5000 rpms. I can also buy an attachment that halfs the lowest speed to 350 rpms if needed. could this work? I'd like to start doing repairs for people and saving what I make to buy some machinery to start building cues in time. if not what route should I go if my ultimate goal is to build some cues for fun as pool and wood are my hobbies and I would like to try the two together :)

Thanks for any replies

Strange_Days

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Am I in the wrong section?

Did I post this question in the wrong section? I am just wondering if I have to go out and buy a metal working lathe to start doing tips or if I can use my wood lathe somehow to get started? I've searched through lots of previous posts but have not found much. Thanks to anyone who helps me out.

Matt LeClerc

rhncue

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Strange_Days said: