The only guidance I could find in the rules as to what has to be done with a cue ball which has been potted reads as follows. "Should a cue ball be touched with the tip while "in-hand", i.e. when breaking-off or playing from the "D" after being potted, .....".
The issue we were trying to resolve is whether the ball in hand could be used to hit a "ball on" behind the baulk line instead of having to be directed forward. Since the rules are silent I presume it can be. Am I correct in this?
Strange that the rules don't actually say the cue ball is "in-hand" and it has to be taken from this reference. Did I miss something?
Paul
The issue we were trying to resolve is whether the ball in hand could be used to hit a "ball on" behind the baulk line instead of having to be directed forward. Since the rules are silent I presume it can be. Am I correct in this?
Strange that the rules don't actually say the cue ball is "in-hand" and it has to be taken from this reference. Did I miss something?
Paul