Snooker rules - again

paaca

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
The only guidance I could find in the rules as to what has to be done with a cue ball which has been potted reads as follows. "Should a cue ball be touched with the tip while "in-hand", i.e. when breaking-off or playing from the "D" after being potted, .....".
The issue we were trying to resolve is whether the ball in hand could be used to hit a "ball on" behind the baulk line instead of having to be directed forward. Since the rules are silent I presume it can be. Am I correct in this?

Strange that the rules don't actually say the cue ball is "in-hand" and it has to be taken from this reference. Did I miss something?

Paul
 
The "baulk line" is of no significance in snooker.

When reading snooker rules, it is best to not know how pool is played. :D
 
Point taken. Di Take it you're in agreement that a 'ball-in-hand" shot can be taken in any direction from within the D?

I must say, by the way, that I am saddened by the apparent decline in interest in snooker here in London. In the billiards and pool association we have in our little seniors community the number of snooker devotees is quite small and most others like to bang away on 8 foot tables with vacuum cleaners for pockets.
 
You can shoot any direction and even shoot a ball in the 'D'. The balkline is a holdover from English Billiards. To be fair, in billiards you can't shoot a ball behind the balk line after an inoff.
 
Back
Top