I have a question for those familiar with VNEA rules. I was playing in a tournament that plays by them and had something come up during my first match.
My opponent attempted to bank an object ball. Immediately after he stroked, he accidentally raked another one of his object balls with his shaft towards the rail, and back out which blocked the pocket for the 8-ball. The cue ball followed the same path as the disturbed object ball and may have slightly collided (I couldn't tell if they collided or not as he was now in the way of where the cue ball and his object ball came to rest.) Being familiar with BCAPL rules, I know that this is a foul as this definitely had an effect on the outcome of the shot and came well within a 7" radius of the previously occupied area. I was now hooked on the rail and froze to another of his object balls with little to no chance of getting a hit. I called a foul. Civil discussion ensued. We explained the situation to the tournament director, and she awarded me ball in hand and we moved the obstructed ball to its original position.
As I later read the rules for VNEA, it appears that the disturbed ball had to come in contact with the cue ball for it to be a foul? Again, I don't know if they had collided. I hope I didn't get this incorrect, however, if that ball had not been disturbed, the cue ball would have likely caromed off of it leaving me at a great position to pocket my ball. Here is the rule as written for VNEA.
8. ACCIDENTALLY moving or touching any ball is not a foul unless: 1) the moved ball is the cue ball or 2) a moved ball makes contact with the cue ball or 3) a moved ball that is jumped off the table or pocketed or causes any ball to be jumped off the table or pocketed. (exception to #3: If the 8-ball is jumped off the table or pocketed it is loss of game if called by the opponent before the next shot is taken). Only opponent may replace the ball moved as closely as possible or leave it where it rests. If the shooter replaces the moved ball, it will be considered a foul.
Here is the rule as written for BCAPL.
1-33 Disturbed Balls (Cue Ball Fouls Only) (AR p. 85, 95)
1. During a game, it is not a foul if you accidentally touch or disturb a single stationary object ball with any part of your body, clothing or equipment, unless the disturbed ball has an effect on the outcome of the shot.
2. "Effect on the outcome of the shot" means that either the disturbed ball makes contact with any ball set in motion as a result of the shot, or that the base of any ball set in motion as a result of the shot passes through the area originally occupied by the disturbed ball. That area is defined as a circle approximately seven inches in diameter centered on the position originally occupied by the disturbed ball (see Diagram 6).
My opponent attempted to bank an object ball. Immediately after he stroked, he accidentally raked another one of his object balls with his shaft towards the rail, and back out which blocked the pocket for the 8-ball. The cue ball followed the same path as the disturbed object ball and may have slightly collided (I couldn't tell if they collided or not as he was now in the way of where the cue ball and his object ball came to rest.) Being familiar with BCAPL rules, I know that this is a foul as this definitely had an effect on the outcome of the shot and came well within a 7" radius of the previously occupied area. I was now hooked on the rail and froze to another of his object balls with little to no chance of getting a hit. I called a foul. Civil discussion ensued. We explained the situation to the tournament director, and she awarded me ball in hand and we moved the obstructed ball to its original position.
As I later read the rules for VNEA, it appears that the disturbed ball had to come in contact with the cue ball for it to be a foul? Again, I don't know if they had collided. I hope I didn't get this incorrect, however, if that ball had not been disturbed, the cue ball would have likely caromed off of it leaving me at a great position to pocket my ball. Here is the rule as written for VNEA.
8. ACCIDENTALLY moving or touching any ball is not a foul unless: 1) the moved ball is the cue ball or 2) a moved ball makes contact with the cue ball or 3) a moved ball that is jumped off the table or pocketed or causes any ball to be jumped off the table or pocketed. (exception to #3: If the 8-ball is jumped off the table or pocketed it is loss of game if called by the opponent before the next shot is taken). Only opponent may replace the ball moved as closely as possible or leave it where it rests. If the shooter replaces the moved ball, it will be considered a foul.
Here is the rule as written for BCAPL.
1-33 Disturbed Balls (Cue Ball Fouls Only) (AR p. 85, 95)
1. During a game, it is not a foul if you accidentally touch or disturb a single stationary object ball with any part of your body, clothing or equipment, unless the disturbed ball has an effect on the outcome of the shot.
2. "Effect on the outcome of the shot" means that either the disturbed ball makes contact with any ball set in motion as a result of the shot, or that the base of any ball set in motion as a result of the shot passes through the area originally occupied by the disturbed ball. That area is defined as a circle approximately seven inches in diameter centered on the position originally occupied by the disturbed ball (see Diagram 6).