Elected Ball?

call shot

Call Shot
Hi everyone. Just a quick question. I realize that reds are never spotted but in the case where the last red is potted and the cue ball is scratched on the same shot, does the incoming player have the option of electing a colour as the final red and then potting a colour after before commencing yellow, green, brown,blue pink, black. For instance is it legal to possibly sink 3 consecutive yellows in such scenario. Thanks for your help.
 
Hi everyone. Just a quick question. I realize that reds are never spotted but in the case where the last red is potted and the cue ball is scratched on the same shot, does the incoming player have the option of electing a colour as the final red and then potting a colour after before commencing yellow, green, brown,blue pink, black. For instance is it legal to possibly sink 3 consecutive yellows in such scenario. Thanks for your help.

No..........
 
Following the international rules, it is possible to sink three consecutive yellow balls, but you would have to modify your starting scenario a little bit. If the outgoing player has committed a foul and has left the table in such state that there is one red left on the table and also a free ball situation, the incoming player may then nominate the yellow as the free ball. He pots the yellow, and on the same stroke (likely by fluke), also pots the remaining red. Score of the break is two points same as if the player had potted two reds. Yellow is re-spotted and the player then nominates and pots yellow again as his color. The yellow is again re-spotted. The player then pots yellow a third time as the first ball in the final rotation of colors.

To my knowledge, this is the only possibility of a player legally potting the same color ball on three consecutive strokes in a single inning. If there are any others, please post.
 
Back
Top