How do you ‘unlearn’ bad habits?

7Baller

I’ve been playing pool for over 40 years without ever being shown how to play & as a result I’ve acquired a number of bad habits, the worst of which is a ‘chicken wing’ where my elbow moves out to the side as I shoot resulting in the cue not moving in a straight line. Over the last year I’ve been doing drills to correct this but I still do it whenever I’m under pressure or simply not concentrating. I have two questions, firstly are there any drills to specifically address this problem & secondly, how can I stop myself from reverting to old habits when playing a match?

FranCrimi

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I’ve been playing pool for over 40 years without ever being shown how to play & as a result I’ve acquired a number of bad habits, the worst of which is a ‘chicken wing’ where my elbow moves out to the side as I shoot resulting in the cue not moving in a straight line. Over the last year I’ve been doing drills to correct this but I still do it whenever I’m under pressure or simply not concentrating. I have two questions, firstly are there any drills to specifically address this problem & secondly, how can I stop myself from reverting to old habits when playing a match?
Chicken wings are a stance issue. It's due to crowding your arm over the line of the shot with your torso. First find the line of the shot (the path of the cue ball to the object ball) and extend it off the table and on to the floor. You're probably straddling that line. If you're right-handed move left to where only your right foot is on the line and your left foot is about shoulder-width left of the line. Face the table more and don't face sideways so much. You should feel a slight lean to the right when you get down over the shot.