Pool Table @ Home Question

JimmyWhite

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Hi,

I am going to be purchasing my first 9-ft table soon (used). I will be replacing the cushions and the cloth for sure. I have been playing for several years - mainly on Brunswicks.

Most people in my hall tell me to either get a used Gold Crown or Diamond and stay away from other stuff.

But I have found some used tables online that are neither GCs or Diamonds - from brands I have never heard of. I like the looks of some of them too.

So do you think there is a huge difference between a used GC/Diamond with "premium" cushions and cloth, over a non-tournament-rated table with the same cushions and cloth?

rexus31

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Hi,

I am going to be purchasing my first 9-ft table soon (used). I will be replacing the cushions and the cloth for sure. I have been playing for several years - mainly on Brunswicks.

Most people in my hall tell me to either get a used Gold Crown or Diamond and stay away from other stuff.

But I have found some used tables online that are neither GCs or Diamonds - from brands I have never heard of. I like the looks of some of them too.

So do you think there is a huge difference between a used GC/Diamond with "premium" cushions and cloth, over a non-tournament-rated table with the same cushions and cloth?
Yes. Diamond and Gold Crowns are solidly engineered and constructed commercial grade tables designed to handle years of constant use. Do you have examples of the tables you are referring to? They most likely are not build as solidly as a Diamond or Gold Crown and most likely use inferior materials.

middleofnowhere

Registered
Hi,