What happened here? (14.1)

tomatoshooter

Well-known member
About midway through the match Lou Butera has the cue ball near the middle of the table and the one ball near the head rail with the next rack awaiting the break. H shoots the 1 in the corner and then spots the ball in the rack and turns the table over to Steve Mizerak. Did he call the shot in a different pocket making it an uncalled shot and therefore it didn't count?

 
Sounds like he called a safety and that's the rule when a ball is pocketed. Comes up from time to time when no good break shot is available.
 
Sounds like he called a safety and that's the rule when a ball is pocketed. Comes up from time to time when no good break shot is available.
I'd never seen that before. I don't think I've seen many safties where the player pockets a ball. I kind of think you should be able to give the shot back like a push out.
 
Huh? Any ball pocketed on a called safety spots.
In 8B too? I was playing a BCA match a couple weeks ago and my opponent kept calling safe and pocketing his balls. I didn't understand the strategy and just waited for him to leave the CB in a spot where I could deal with my problem balls which he eventually did.
 
Yes. That's what the WPA/BCA rules are. If you call 'safety' and make a ball it spots.
I tried finding that in the BCA 8B rules but could not find it. I'd like to recommend it to out LO just to ruffle Mr. Safety's feathers...LOL.
 
WPA Rules:

Screen Shot 2022-03-11 at 7.22.09 AM.png
 
If you call a safety how do you know which ball to spot first?

Not sure what situation you are talking about, in straight pool, all the balls are equal so there is no order to spot them in. If another ball is in the spot, the one that comes up goes behind it in a straight line from the spot, till it reaches the end rail, then it would go in front of the spot if for some reason there was no place to spot it behind.
 
In 14.1 you can call a safety and pocket a ball. The ball is spotted and you lose your turn. The incoming shooter must play the CB from where it landed after the safety. So Lou called a safe and pocketed the one ball since he could not break the rack from where the one ball stood. The one ball is placed on the spot in front of the racked balls and it is now a full rack of balls. Mix must shoot from a great distance at a full rack of balls. This is classic old school 14.1 safety play by Lou and Miz's resulting responsive safety play.
 
Back
Top