I appreciate the you citing rule 6.6.Rule 6.6 does not specify "in play". The whole situation needs to be clarified.
I agree clarification is needed. Because like you said there's some nonsensical applications like if you "touch an object ball" that's knocked off the table.
And meanwhile there's rule 1.4 where there's scenarios balls are to be spotted. It doesn't say Rule 6.6 is suspended during the process of spotting balls. So does that imply if a player spots balls they are committing unsportsmanlike conduct? Or does the explicit existence of 1.4 imply Rule 6.6 is suspended for that act? And likewise does Regulation 13 imply Rule 6.6 is suspended for the act of clearing pockets?
And meanwhile, I do think it's a better look for referees to just ask the players to let them handle it. And it's a better look for nobody to attempt it until "the shot is complete" including all balls stop moving.